We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy stay in a hectic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Easy stay in a hectic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited relatives nearby and this was convenient but otherwise not much of interest in that area. Convenient airport shuttle (you don't want to drive in San Jose) and taxis available to go from the hotel. Breakfast is included, though it's at Denny's next door and only continental (you can pay more for a choice of full breakfast off menu). Room service is from Denny's; if you have kids, they can't go in the hotel restaurant in the casino. Good, free Internet via hotel computers off lobby. Fully English fluent reception and helpful, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for taking a few minutes and leaving a comment, we really appreciate it!

We are glad to know that your stay with us was good, and it will be our pleasure to receive you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    169
    62
    32
    18
See reviews for
68
119
37
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked this well before arriving and it turned out to be ideal.

- It's in easy reach if both airports.
- There's free wifi that is quick and simple to access.
- The staff are friendly and helpful.
- The rooms are fine.
- Breakfast is included at the Denny's on site.
- There's a pool and a gym.
- There's a casino if you can't sleep.

Of course there are better hotels but for the price and the convenience this ticks my boxes.

Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are very happy to know that you could enjoy all of our benefits, it will always be our pleasure yo have you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with student group as a stepping stone to Costa Rica. The hotel had a very American feel. We actually were kind of disappointed that we'd come all the way to Costa Rica just to stay in a Best Western. BUT, the hotel was very nice. It was very clean, spacious, had a great pool, hot tub, work out room, ... We all felt very safe there. The best thing was that all calls, both foreign and domestic, were FREE!!! Yes, FREE!!! Great bonus.

All in all, it was a good hotel. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

We are glad to know that you had a good time in our hotel, and that you took advantage of our free, unlimited, national and international calls. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great front desk staff accommodated our large group at the last minute, handling the check-in efficiently and with genuine smiles and warmth. Stored all of our luggage until our rooms were ready. Provided a free meeting room for our group's orientation and the buffet-style supper was great.
Gallo-pinto authentic breakfast was tasty and Costa Rican.
Well done, Irazu Best Western.
Rooms were clean and quiet, although the beds were a little on the hard side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

We are very happy because you could stay with us, and we are even happier to know that you had a good time here.

Our staff is always going to receive you with a smile, and willing to do anything to make your stay unforgetable.

¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were so happy that they over booked us at the San Jose CR location and moved us to Irazu. Beautiful hotel and casino. We had a great time staying here. Everyone was always so friendly and willing to help. The convenience of Dennny's restaurant being attached to the hotel made it easy for us to get food when we were hungry late night. Coffee always avaible, rooms cleaned daily, the hotel always very very clean even outside the doors, the employees very clean and dressed nicely. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are controled by us, quiet, dark with all aminities. Casino was so fun, gardens beautiful, pool inviting.
I will stay again at Best Western Irazu!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear user:

We want to thank you for your comment, and we are really happy to know that you had such a great time with us. You can be sure that our staff is always going to be willing to do anything to give you the best service, and it will be our pleasure to receive you back here when you visit Costa Rica again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent hotel to stay the night before/after your flight. It is good for relaxing with big swimming pool, FREE internet, inc use of pc, FREE international call, Free drinks (alcohol too) in the Happy Hour, FREE shuttle service to airport and the service is great. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who arrive to San Jose to stay there and get rid of Jetlag or the night before the flight back home.....

Room Tip: Get there eafly so that you can use the hotel facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

The best regard for us is to know that our guests are happy while they stay here, and even after that. We try to offer much more than a room, to make you as confortable as possible, and we are happy to know that you could take advantage of all our complimentary services.

We are going to be looking forward your next visit, and remember that Costa Rica always welcomes you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great comfortable place to stay. Not to far from the airport, downtown and attractions.Happy hour inthe casino with free drinks. Fantastic hot tub out in the garden.Dennys right there and breakfast is included . Have stayed many times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear user:

We are glad to know that you always pick us, and even gladder to know that our location, facilities and service, combine to give you more than a room, a great experiencie.

It is always our pleasure to receive you here, and we are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.