We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for airport access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Amersham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for airport access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We arrived at the hotel about 8pm, and efficently checked in. The rooms were ok but as mentioned in other reviews were a bit outdated, hence my 4 stars. However the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent. The first evening when we were very tired, the waitress in the bar recommended food and drinks for us in a very friendly and welcoming way. Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Costa Rica and the gym was the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel and is well worth a workout before breakfast. We stayed there for two nights and it is a great hotel for airport transfers, as breakfast was available from 4.30am. We also noticed air crews staying there as well, which is often a good sign.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí , we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are committed to our guests, develops only very good experiences, passion to our daily work is what we really feel.

Once again , thank you very much, we will be looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    135
    59
    13
    4
See reviews for
20
63
25
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel before it became a Crowne Plaza, and when my expectation was much more. What a let down.
The lobby and common area interiors were redone, however the rooms still had the same outdated, old interiors. The carpets hadn't seen a steamer or vacuum since the 70s. The thermostat control was antiquated; and both the room service and breakfast options were rather expensive.
The gym is large, and is also a public facility. The pool area is standard, as is the casino.
I was underwhelmed by this property.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest:

We want to thank you for your comments. We apologies for this perception on this time you were staying with us.

We will check every detail as you mencioned. Once again thank you for staying with us.

You can contact me at pamela.vega@corobicicp.co.cr

Sincerely yours:

Pamela Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was here for a conference and the hotel served its purpose. The room was clean, the staff was nice and the food was fine. It rained many of the days so we could not enjoy the pool, although I found it awkward to sit by the pool that basically is right outside the lobby and in the middle of the restaurant. Location to the rest of San Jose is convenient. Overall, the hotel served its purpose and was pretty standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí , we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are committed to our guests, develops only very good experiences, passion to our daily work is what we really feel.

Once again , thank you very much, we will be looking forward to your next visit ,

Sincerely Yours,

Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobicí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed for 4 days / 3 nights on business. Room was very comfortable for working and resting. My only complaint was the very thick pillows, but I left a note requesting a slimmer one and housekeeping resolved. Bed, bath and amenities were all great. I asked for room service several times and food was always good, with many options to choose from - even sushi. Morning breakfast was also very good. Hotel needs some revamping in public areas (entrance, lobby, corridors, etc.) but my room seemed to have been recently remodeled, so that was a nice surprise upon arriving. All staff was incredibly kind and efficient!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of our hotel we want to express our sincere Thanks.

The Crowne Plaza Hotels Philosophy is based on the goal of the Hotel that our guests love, we are focus each day to make our preformance and excellent one.

Once again thank you , we will be looking forward for your visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobicí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Executive Lounge is a must for this hotel. Breakfast included eggs meat beans cereals and fruit great to start your day. Short cab ride or bus to downtown but when you get tired of the hustle and bustle there are plenty of places to relax here. The staff in the executive lounge were very helpful but the front desk were not.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kindness in spending the time to let us know your comments regarding to your recent visit to our hotel.

First instance, on behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Staff I will like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have mentioned , we , the staff members we are focus on the guest service attention that is the force that moves us to feel passion for our work.

If there is a way that we could be able to contact you in order to have the complete information , regarding to the room number and your complete name and be able to apologize also in a personal way.

Please find as follows my information,

Pamela Vega
pamela.vega@corobicicp.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here as a stop off for the first night of our holiday travelling around Costa Rica. The hotel served its purpose which was just somewhere to rest for the night before heading off in the morning. The room was a little dark with a small window, and there were not really any restaurants or places to eat nearby. They had an efficient taxi service and fantastic gym facilities. The breakfast buffet also had a great variety of food. It was great value for money as a top secret hotel on Lastminute.com.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest :

Thank you so much for your kindness in taking your time to share with us your experience. We will follow up with your highlights in order to make a better performance , each and every day that is our goal.

On behalf of all the Hotel Staff , we do highly appreciate your feed back.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Held a four day meeting at this property and was very impressed with the level of service we received. The food was also quite good for being banquet food. There is a lot more meeting space than you would think although some of it is strangely configured. The traffic getting to the hotel in the morning was a bit tough for the participants but it's location makes it a perfect compromise for participants traveling from both directions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments ,we, all the staff members of the hotel are committed to make each and every day all of our duties with a genuine passion , based on our service, this is the force that makes our day become very productive.

All your comments are very important for us we do appreciate your time in making us knowing them, we will be looking forward if you decide in conctact us.

Sincerely Yours;

Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobicí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobici­ is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.