We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space for meetings, terrific staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Benton City, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots of space for meetings, terrific staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Held a four day meeting at this property and was very impressed with the level of service we received. The food was also quite good for being banquet food. There is a lot more meeting space than you would think although some of it is strangely configured. The traffic getting to the hotel in the morning was a bit tough for the participants but it's location makes it a perfect compromise for participants traveling from both directions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments ,we, all the staff members of the hotel are committed to make each and every day all of our duties with a genuine passion , based on our service, this is the force that makes our day become very productive.

All your comments are very important for us we do appreciate your time in making us knowing them, we will be looking forward if you decide in conctact us.

Sincerely Yours;

Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobicí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    130
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
18
60
25
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was again more than satisfied with my stay. This is truly a five star experience the hotel has everything you need and no reason to leave the property should you be so inclined. I enjoyed the restaurants and casino and even bought some small gifts at the gift store. They have a very nice casino with polite staff and although I lost yet again, I had a great time. Room was nice, mini bar, coffee maker and plenty of pillows. Internet worked great throughout the hotel and my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí staff please receive our sincere thanks for the time spent in sharing with us your comments.
Our main goal is to make our guests stay a memorable one, hand in hand with the excellence in service.

We do hope to be able to host you again in a near future

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed five nights in a king bed room on 6th floor which includes the club room. That amenity was very nice, very comfortable, with a nice panoramic view and a free breakfast and happy hours. The food was always fresh, tasty, and well presented. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The guest room itself was very clean and comfortable but we wished it was a bit larger for a five night stay. (typical American expectations I admit). It did have a GREAT A/C, TV, bed, pillows, linens, and comfortable but tight seating area. The bathroom was clean and nice but only one sink which disappointed my wife. The shower was very clean with good hot water and good water pressure, but we wished the shower itself was a little larger and more comfortable getting in and out of. The bathroom is a little crowded for two people trying to get morning ready at the same time. The hotel has a huge open atrium with a bar/lounge area, shop, and a casino at the opposite end. There is an excellent Japanese restaurant in the hotel with very good food and excellent service. One of the best things about the hotel is the HUGE fitness center with an outdoor courtyard spa/hot tub. There is also a huge courtyard pool with lots of undercover seating and tables. Immediately adjacent to this is a very nice American style restaurant for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There is not much around the hotel except some commercial businesses but you can walk a block or three to a Burger King, McDonalds, the Central Park, and the National museum. I am not sure but I do believe there are a couple of local restaurants within walking distance as well. Be careful of the bustling speeding traffic and the crumbling curbs and broken sidewalks. But the streets are surprisingly clean with no trash or debris blowing around. I would not recommend walking around the area late at night, same as thousands of other city areas around the world. Yes, I would definitely stay at the Crowne Plaza again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments, we do appreciate your time .

On behalf of all of our staff it is a real pleasure for us to have the opportunity to host you and to be able to have you again at this your home .

We certain want to make your stay as much pleasant each time.

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

On the positive side, the hotel is clean, safe, comfortable beds and quite spacious rooms, polite staff, handily situated between airport and central San José, However, the décor needs a major overhaul - I stayed on the Club Floor and the rooms are decorated in orange, brown, and mud green - like walking into the 1970s. Bathrooms are spacious but the baths themselves are tiny and uncomfortable. My shower head was old and spattered out water all over the place. No shower gel or bath gel amongst the toiletries which was very strange (nice high quality shampoo, conditioner and body lotion was a plus). Location is handy but depressing - views of a run down high way and shopping centre. Breakfast on the Club Floor was unacceptably poor - very minimal choice, fruit looked and tasted as though it had been out since the night before, coffee tasteless, orange juice was not fresh and tasted cheap. Front desk staff were friendly and polite but didn't seem very well trained - I asked where the nearest beauty salon was to get a blowdry and pedicure and could I get assistance to make an appointment; it took at least 10 minutes for the lady at the front desk to find out (surely this can't be an unusual request at a 5 star international hotel?!) and then she called a taxi and handed me the phone to tell the taxi driver where it was as she said she didn't know! All in all, an ok experience but I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind attention and the time to share with us your comments , at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we are always looking forward to make our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. This is our promise of service besides an excellent service. Means our perfect combination to keep Costa Rica in our guests minds.

On behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Hotel Staff, we do hope to be able to host you in a near future in Costa Rica.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was one of many hotels I stayed in on my trip to Costa Rica and it was one of the best for cleanliness, service and quality. My boyfriend and I had our things stolen (not in San Jose) and needed somewhere nice to relax and catch up on sleep. We were very pleased to have found this place. Very clean and spacious rooms, and the service was excellent. The girls at reception were especially friendly. Recommended, we would have stayed longer than the on night but unfortunately the prices increased during the week as it's popular during business hours.

Room Tip: Great if needing to visit an Embassy (UK, US…) in San Jose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your time for sharing with us your comments we do appreciate it very much. Each day is an opportunity for us to become the Hotel That our Guests Love.

It is our pleasure to express the great satisfaction that we feel knowing that our hotel is the place for you ,

This is your home at any time , we will be looking forward to host you.

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is located quite far from the city center but there are some restaurants and shops in the nearby. The staff at the front desk were really friendly and professional. Our check-in took only few moments, my IHG Platinum status was recognised and we got a very nice upgrade to the Club floor. The room was spacious and clean, the same bathroom. WiFi was fast. Club Lounge offered some good snacks, drinks and small breakfast buffet in the morning. Service was good too. The hotel has small outdoor pool with bar/restaurant. Overall very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí , we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are committed to our guests, develops only very good experiences, passion to our daily work is what we really feel.

Once again , thank you very much, we will be looking forward to your next visit ,

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Well the Casino isn't quite beside the bedroom but its on the ground floor within easy reach if you fancy a quick gamble.
As a city hotel this is pleasant enough and certainly functional. Staff are pleasant. Food in the restaurant is good and plentiful. The hotel is within a 15 minute taxi journey of the centre of San Jose (about US€6). There isn't much of interest in the general vicinity of the Hotel.
Ok for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobici­ is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.