We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is only about a 20 minute ride from the airport. It's decently priced and the service is good. It is an older property and smells a bit like smoke. There is a bar and casino downstairs which can get loud and rowdy at night. Overall, it's a good alternative to other airport area hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest :

Thank you so much for your kindness in taking your time to share with us your experience. We will follow up with your highlights in order to make a better performance , each and every day that is our goal.

On behalf of all the Hotel Staff , we do highly appreciate your feed back.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Sincerely Yours:

Ana Lucía Zuñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    112
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
50
25
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I remember this hotel from a while ago being a classy place. But now it is very run down, the rooms smell moldy and stinks of smoke, even in the non-smoking rooms. Would not go there again if I can help it. There are better options in the area

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr Carlos :

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing it with us your comments.

It will be my pleasure to be able to contact you personally and offer our sincere apologies, the meaning of the service is very clear in our daily work.
Reason why it is very important for us to find out more details regarding to your room number to make the changes and revisions accordinally.

As previous , please accept our sincere apologies ,

Sincerely Yours.


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Ottimo Hotel, servizi ottimi in rapporto al prezzo pagato. Letti superlativi soprattutto come comfort.

Very good hotel, quality/cost is very good. The are many services and they are good.
The king size beds are excellent and comfort is very very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all our Hotel Staff we will like to express our sincere gratitude for sharing your experiences with us !!!!

Each day, we want our preformance to shine, the taste of a well done work, and this is the entire meaning for our sense of the Hospitality Industry .

Thank you very much for your preference, and we will be looking forward to host you in a near future.

Sincerely Yours;


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here one night on way to Tortuguero
Room was large and comfortable especially the King Bed.
Breakfast was buffet and although not a large one it was sufficient
There is a casino in the hotel but we didn't, use it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of our hotel we want to express our sincere Thanks !!!! for your kind attention, and time to share with us your experience at our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Hotels Philosophy is based on the goal of the Hotel that our guests love ,,,,, we are focus each day to make our preformance and excellent one.

Once again thank you , we will be looking forward for your visit.

Sincerely Yours,



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The receptionist and bellman were were exceptionally helpful and kind. We had a fabulous meal at the Japanese restaurant but our experience at breakfast was so bad we won't be coming back. Our waitress had a bad attitude as soon as we sat down. She tried to take my plate away as I was still eating from it and when asked her politely not too she became even ruder. I then watched her talk about me to another waiter. Not what one would expect from the crowne plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Management and Staff we will like to express our sincere apologies for the uncomprehensive attitude of this person. We do appreciate very much your time spent sharing these comments .

I am not able to find the proper words to express the way we feel , we have always been very proud for the sense of passion that we preform everyday, that I am sure you have experienced with our other collegues. I will like to provide to you my information , it is very important for us to get to the bottom line of finding out details in order to take the propper actions , as per our goals are always to become the Hotel Guests Love !!!!

My email address ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr, , it will be my pleasure to be able to call you as well.

Crowne Plaza Corobicí is known as a very professional Hotel, always keeping in mind that for us our Guests are the most important, reason why this behavior is unacceptable.

Sincerely Yours


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Crowne Plaza hotel in close enough to downtown San Jose to make it convenient, yet far enough away from the downtown noise and traffic. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and nice spa, even has a lap pool. This hotel caters to US tourist and business clientele.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind attention and the time to share with us your comments , at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we are always looking forward to make our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. This is our promise of service besides an excellent service. Means our perfect combination to keep Costa Rica in our guests minds.

On behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Hotel Staff, we do hope to be able to host you in a near future in Costa Rica.

Sincerely Yours


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This could be a great hotel if it were not for the fact that they are not quite honest when exchanging your dollars. I exchanged $ 80.00 at the front desk and should have received 38,880 colones according to a exchange rate of $1=486c which was displayed on the wall. But when I later on counted the money I discovered that they had only given me 468c per dollar. A slight discrepancy but still a ripoff. A Canadian bank downtown (downtown) three days later actually paid me 494 colones per dollar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kindness in taking the time to write and share with us your comments.

In reference to the exchange rate our hotel has an exchange policy that we will be more than glad to be able to speak to you and be able to have the opportunity to apologize personally.

Our Hotel philosophy is always to make our guests love our hotels and our goal is to be able to reach an appropiate moment to earn this priviledge.

Please find as follows my information.

Sincerely Yours

Ana Lucía Zuñiga
Salas&Marketing Director
ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr
+50625436000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobici­ is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.