We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel to downtown San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel to downtown San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Crowne Plaza hotel in close enough to downtown San Jose to make it convenient, yet far enough away from the downtown noise and traffic. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and nice spa, even has a lap pool. This hotel caters to US tourist and business clientele.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind attention and the time to share with us your comments , at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we are always looking forward to make our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. This is our promise of service besides an excellent service. Means our perfect combination to keep Costa Rica in our guests minds.

On behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Hotel Staff, we do hope to be able to host you in a near future in Costa Rica.

Sincerely Yours


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    135
    61
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
65
25
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This could be a great hotel if it were not for the fact that they are not quite honest when exchanging your dollars. I exchanged $ 80.00 at the front desk and should have received 38,880 colones according to a exchange rate of $1=486c which was displayed on the wall. But when I later on counted the money I discovered that they had only given me 468c per dollar. A slight discrepancy but still a ripoff. A Canadian bank downtown (downtown) three days later actually paid me 494 colones per dollar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kindness in taking the time to write and share with us your comments.

In reference to the exchange rate our hotel has an exchange policy that we will be more than glad to be able to speak to you and be able to have the opportunity to apologize personally.

Our Hotel philosophy is always to make our guests love our hotels and our goal is to be able to reach an appropiate moment to earn this priviledge.

Please find as follows my information.

Sincerely Yours

Ana Lucía Zuñiga
Salas&Marketing Director
ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr
+50625436000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I always have a pleasant stay at this hotel although it seems to be a bit pricey. The service is good, the staff is friendly and I love the workout facility. The best part about the hotel is the Japanese restaurant on the hotel property. It is worth a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí , we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are committed to our guests, develops only very good experiences, passion to our daily work is what we really feel.

Once again , thank you very much, we will be looking forward to your next visit ,

Sincerely Yours:



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Telephone 506-2543 60 00 ext 271
Email:ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night in April before a flight out of SJO the following morning. Hotel itself is clean, nice size room and bed but that is about where the positive comments end.

Firstly, the wifi in the hotel is poor. The signal is very much in and out and for a hotel of the Crowne Plaza's standard I would expect better. Also, DO NOT DRINK THE DRINKS FROM THE FRIDGE IN THE ROOM!! There was no price list for the drinks in the fridge and now I know why! $12 dollars for a bottle of water! I say no more....

Lastly, don't go to the hotel for the casino. Full of shady characters and actually quite intimidating when walking in there.

A much better option is the nearby Adventure Inn which is closer to the airport, friendlier, better wifi and cheaper!

Poor effort Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kindness in spending the time to let us know your comments regarding to your recent visit to our hotel.

First instance, on behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Staff I will like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have mentioned , we , the staff members we are focus on the guest service attention that is the force that moves us to feel passion for our work.

If there is a way that we could be able to contact you in order to have the complete information , regarding to the room number and be able to apologize also in a personal way.

Please find as follows my information,

Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Maketing Director
Telephone number 506 2543 60 00 ext 271
Email: ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here on the first and last nights of a Costa Rica holiday. It is good quality with a decent restaurant. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice. It has all the facilties you would expect of a good quality city hotel used a lot by business people and for conferences, e.g. minibar, wifi, swimming pool etc.There is also a casino. The outside was under renovation whilst I was there so my photos of the outside don't look so good but the interior was not affected. There's not a lot outside of the hotel but it's very near to the Mueso de Arte and the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana if you fancy a stroll. We walked to a nearby Brasilian steakbar and there's also a Tico restaurant nearby and a McDonalds. I was there on Easter Thursday and Friday and didn't realise that the bar would be closed due to local laws!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room on one side (the left as you face the front from outside) and a 5th floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Cordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Morning Mr. Go9ers!

Receive our best regards! Thank you for your comment. Is really important for our Hotel receive your opinion. Currently, our hotel is undergoing changes in his structure and image for the benefit of all our customers.

We hope your stay has been rewarding and come back soon to our hotel.

Please contact us for your next visit to San Jose, we will be pending and awaiting your visit.


Sincerilly,

Pamela Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and modern! This hotel exceeded my expectations. Great value for the price. Bar and resto were fabulous..we even asked them to prepare something special for us (not on the menu) and they accomodated with pleasure. Very friendly staff! The breakfast was really wonderful, great variety and very good quality!

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in your room charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Coorinadora de Ventas at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. CAESA,

Muchas gracias por tomar su tiempo para compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel.
Me alegra saber que ya conoce nuestra marca Crowne Plaza y que le haya gustado nuestro restaurante japones Fuji.

Vamos a hacerle llegar su observación a la administración del Casino, para poder brindarles un mejor servicio en esta área.

Esperamos verlo pronto por nuestras instalaciones.

Saludos cordiales,

Lourdes Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wantend to stay a couple of nights San José just to check out the capital of Costa Rica. The hotel is situated outside of the downtown area but the taxi will take you there for 4 dollars so that's no problem. The hotel is a bit old but has all the faciliteit you want plus a great and friendly service

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are glad you had a good experience with our service; it is very important for us to have a excellent service.
Early this year the hotel will be having some refreshments, so hopefully next time you visit San Jose, you will be enjoying our facilities.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobici­ is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.