We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is a little tired in terms of design and the rooms, which whilst clean suffer from old style bathrooms even though the beds are pretty good. The bar is nice if old fashioned and the pool area is fine. What compensates for this is the service provided particularly by the front desk staff- they were happy to help and even though the response could at times be slow, they set a good example of ensuring customer requirements are met.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors which have less security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind attention in taking your time to share your experience at our hotel with us. Crowne Plaza Hotels are becoming part of a renovation that slowly has been taken place since last year, and it will be finished by 2013. These changes includes new carpets, new bedding new desings and will make our hotel look and feel different. I am sure of it.

We do appreciate very much having the opportunity to host you and will like to become your hostess during this future change.

Sincerely Yours:



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    108
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
50
25
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branson West, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at this Crown Plaza on a number of occassions. It seems they are doing better. Check-in was fast. The room was excellent, clean, well laid out, comfortable, fantastic bed and linens, The bathroom clean and well equipped. For you Priority Club members the hospitality room was very nice. The breakfast and service was typical and good. A casino downstairs makes for a fun few hours. The internet worked well. Only downside continues to be their TV channel line up. No FOX News and the channels for some of my favorite shows were blocked. The front desk said they were being blocked by TICA cable. Now why would they be blocked by the cable company? Such I minor issue, I didn't let it effect my score.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us , on behalf of all the staff we want to express our sincere gratitude.

Each day we are looking forward to improve in each of our performance, reason why we will like to share our passion with our guests

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you hoping to have you in a near future in your Costa Rican Home.

Sincerely Yours



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Crowne Plaza in San Jose is in need of some fairly serious renovation and updating before I could recommend it as a solid business hotel. The location is convenient to the airport and some restaurants although it looks out on a busy highway. The pool is very small and is adjacent to the restaurant so if you are there with work colleagues, there is no privacy to swim. The rooms feel outdated with stained carpets and shabby furniture. The breakfast is fine although if you have any food restrictions (dairy, gluten, etc.), the staff will be unable to answer questions about how the food is prepared. On a positive note, the wifi is free and works well, the gym is very good and the staff is generally courteous. You can pay your airport departure tax at the front desk.

Overall, it's a fairly depressing, dreary and dark hotel. You can do much better at the Barcelo or other hotels around town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your comments , we do appreciate it very much , our main goal is to be able to make the modifications where they are needed to be done. I will like to express our sincere apologies on behalf of all of our staff for the inconvenience that you may have faced , and hope that your next visit you will be able to share with us the renovations that the Crowne Plaza Hotels around the world are going to have.

New carpets in 115 rooms, new beddings, new style in the rooms and we will also take into consideration your notes regarding to food special requirements . In our menus is shown that if there is needed to have special requests for any type of meals be our guest, making our staff know and we will take care inmediatelly.

Hoping to have the opportunity to host you in a future, I remain.



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2011 for about a week while getting dental work done at a nearby clinic.

We had a Junior Suite that gave us access to the Executive Lounge.

This hotel offers 24 room service.

I must say that this hotel has one of the best room service menus that I have ever seen!

You can get pretty much anything on the menu 24/7.

The prices are very reasonable.

My only issue was that the wireless internet in our room plain and simply sucked.

I brought my computer which had an ethernet port, so I was ok.

My wife brought her iPad that has no ethernet port and she was not fine.

She had to sit in the lobby or the executive lounge to get propper WiFi reception.

Our suite was at the corner of the hotel which may account for the lousy reception.

At least the WiFi service was free.

We also stayed at the JW Marriott in Guanacaste where they charged us $13.95 per device per day and the WiFi at that very expensive hotel was not that good either.

I don't know if the situation improved any but having poor wireless internet reception is not a good idea for a business oriented hotel.

The ethernet worked perectly fine.

The suite that we stayed in was fine.

The hotel is very clean.

Their room service is outstanding.

The room rates are reasonable.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Just make sure that you have an ethernet port on your computer.

Room Tip: For the little extra money, choose an Executive Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the internet, we have taken this situation into consideration and with an inmediate response.

On behalf of all the Hotel Staff we do appreciate your comments, these comments makes us to become and improve each an every day.

We will be looking forward for your next visit to our country hoping to have the opportunity to host you again.

Sincerely Yours


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night with a friend. The hotel is freshly renovated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and our waiter very attentive and pleasant to talk to. It is a few km from the heart of the city but well worth the short taxi ride. I would stay here again if I came back to San Jose.

Reading another guest's comments about having to pay $50 extra for escorts, etc they meet at bars and having them sign in and leave ID... what do you expect?? I am glad the hotel is trying to deter guests from using their premises as a bawdy house for sex tourism. It is a very tough position to put a hotel in as most guests don't want hookers walking wandering the halls or using a room they will be staying in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your kindness in sharing your comments with us, we do appreciate. It will be our pleasure to host your next visit to our hotel.

Sincerely Yours :


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only stayed here 1 night came in late left early but the hotel is nice. We went to the hotel bar for some snacks and drinks before going out for dinner in the city... It was nice it had a good atmosphere with live music. I did notice the pool is freezing which surprised me because San Jose is colder than the rest of Costa Rica. But since we weren't there long enough to swim or to go to the casino I can't complain about it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we do appreciate your time , each and every day our Mision and Vision is to work hard to achive the best memories for our guests to keep.

On behalf of all the staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí, we will be looking forward for your future visit.

Kind regards,


Ana Lucía Zúniga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you stay at this hotel alone
As many turist do must of the time.
They go to bars, discos, nightclubs meet a friend or have local friends and bring them to the hotel you will find out that the extra charge to have that friend come to you room will be $50.00 per night and their ID will be confiscated until they leave I think a little more and they will finger print them just like getting detained by the police, this is very embarrassing
The problem is that they won't tell you that ahead of time then you and you friend will be in a weird position deciding what to do, mostly if you friend is not an escort or they come from far away you will have no choice but to pay
I think that they should have that in a writen form when you make the reservation and when you check in to avoid this kind of embarrasing moments to their guest unless they just want the mony and don't care.
The guest can make a good decision stay on this hotel or not if they know this ahead of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, please accept our apologies if we have not mentioned ahead of time this policy , but this is a very delicate issue mostly because we do not activate any protocol until it is needed do do so.

By security reasons all of our guests should register their friends or companions at the front desk , non visitor is allowed to come to any guest room alone or with not been announced.

Our staff will never intend to disturb any guest with inappropiate behavior, but it is also understood that our main goal as well is your own security .

For our Hotel the way our guests feel and their experinces are the most important back up that we achive, we do care and we do understand how you might feel, and will be important for us to know if there is an opportunity for us to host you in a future , knowing also ahead of time that you will might have friends that will visit you and take notice in advance.

Sincerely Yours;



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Sabana Norte, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobici­ is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.