We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my home, and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Primo

Save Saved
You added Casa Primo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Primo
Cariari | 1km South/East from Ramada Herradura Convention Center, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 San Jose B&B and Inns
Belmont, California
1 review
“Better than my home, and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On arrival we received a super friendly greeting with smiles, and were given help to move in everything. The area was quiet, and in a safe neighborhood -a VERY rich neighborhood. When we asked about snacks, we were given fresh fruit and cookies with a sip of juice, even after a 10:15pm arrival. Upon walking in, the place was spotlessly clean, and gorgeous, and it has the character of a truly Central-American Casa. It is NICER than shown in the photos on the website.
The beds were large, and comfortable. The breakfast was enormous, and delicious, and we were given fresh squeezed juice, and even a fresh coconut that was cut right then. The inner-garden area is filled with flowers, it is quiet, has plenty of seating, and is simply beautifully taken care of. There is a small garden to walk around in, and a fabulously deep and cooling pool, with a hot tub that had strong jets at the right back-level!
The bedrooms were large, larger than most in the USA. The shower stayed hot for a very long time. We stayed 20 minutes over the limit, and were not kicked out. The woman who takes care of this property (March - April 2013) is extremely kind, and helps with everything. She even gave me money for the toll, which I didn't know I would need! The internet worked very well, on a computer that they provided.
Though we stayed only one night at first, we came back to stay another night at the end of our trip, and felt like we could just stay for a week to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather. Even though the location is "hard to find," they send you perfect directions that you can print out, with maps, and directions in Spanish for Ticos that make perfect sense. Getting from the airport to the hotel is extremely easy with the directions, and probably a bit harder with a gps. Because this 8 or 9-room Bed and Breakfast is close to the Main highway 1, you're quick to get in and out. After driving the distance twice in a Taxi, I could find it without a gps from Hwy 1. Being on a road with no exit-way, it is very peaceful.
Go here, it's so worth it!

Room Tip: Upgrading to suites is cheap and they're amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is so comfy. I liked it so much. The owner is very cute and friendly. Location is absolutely safe and quiet, between Airport and Downtown. Our room was huge and very good furnished.
You need GPS coordinates to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is relatively small boutique-style hotel located in very nice neighborhood, very neat, spacious and beautiful. Very friendly and helpful stuff. It is very quiet and located conveniently.
WARNING: Tico`s address system is designed to turn your trip into adventure. Enjoy it. I suggest finding all turning points described in the address on google maps. In our case route description was correct and gps coordinates in the email were also correct, but booking.com messed it up providing wrong location on the map so we had to ask lady in some other small hotel. She told us that this is her friend's place and gave us very the same instructions that we had to follow instead of using booking.com map. It was easy after that - find shopping center along the road, turn right, go straight etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Owner at Casa Primo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much to both of you and to everyone that has reviewed our boutique hotel. We started some years ago providing accommodations for small groups and individuals looking for a warm atmosphere boutique hotel that will feel like home. Casa Primo is 7 minutes to the airport in San Jose and has easy access to the main roads that takes you to the most visit tourist attractions.
We want our guest to feel at home and that makes us different from a big hotel. We enjoy providing good service, clean rooms and a relaxing place while in Costa Rica. I hope you come to Costa Rica soon and stay at Casa Primo where you wiil always be warmly welcomed.
Rember the GPS coordinates to get to Casa Primo CR are N09.96920 W 084.15744
and we are in Residential Cariari Same neighborhood as Ramada Herradura Hotel , DoubleTree Cariari Hotel and 3 minutes from Hotel Marriott in Belen Heredia.
We thank you for your visit and we appreciate your excelent reviews. Best regards, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The owner and helps will make you feel completely at home in this beautiful place. There's opportunities to do you own cooking, or participate in shared cooking with the owner et cetera. It's all great fun. The rooms are well maintained, very spacious and very comfortable. There's a nice lounging pool outside, with a hot tub.

Though the area it self is quite isolated from 'real' Costa Rica, you're very close to the airport and convention centers, so for business trips it's great. It's also easy to vist San Jose from here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We cannot thank the owner enough to rent out her house to us (party of five). We would definitely coming back to this house when we are in San Jose, CR. Everything is perfect and beautiful. Daisy was the best helper that one can ask for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Primo

Address: Cariari | 1km South/East from Ramada Herradura Convention Center, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Primo boutique hotel is a former hacienda house. This boutique hotel provides its guest with a warm and intimate atmosphere. Perfect for both lisure and business trips. Situated 1 km from Whyndhan San Jose Herradura Convention Center and in the beautiful golf community of Cariari. It is just 7 minutes from the international airport in San Jose and 3 minutes from the Hotel Marriott in Belen de Heredia and 15 minutes to San Jose center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Primo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Primo Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Primo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.