We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for arrival & departure stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isla Verde Hotel to your Saves list
Isla Verde Hotel
2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place for arrival & departure stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at the Isla Verde Hotel twice - the night we arrived in Costa Rica from the US and the night before we were flying home. The location was good - the rooms were clean and attractive - and the check-in staff was wonderful.
We especially got good service from Robert who helped us straighten out a mix-up with our rental car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Marge,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to assist you with the car rental.

We look forward to see you again in your next trip to San José!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked this hotel as I needed to process some paperwork with the US embassy, which is next door. I did not expect much as I was just planning to stay two nights in a cheap hotel as close as possible to my meeting location. The hotel design is interesting, the room basic but clean. The location is far from SJ city center where there is not much to do anyway, but it is close to Escazu, the hype place in SJ for nightlife (check the Jazz Café). The staff is fantastic. They went above and beyond to help me with various requests I had in order to be able to complete the process with the US embassy. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Gekeha,

Thank your for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to hear you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff assisted you in their best way possible.

We look forward to have you again with us next time in San José!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have stayed here Plenty of times(over 10) and I love staying here the Staff is friendly the location great and the restaurant at the bottom is awesome the food they serve is top quality and the waiters are very nice. I started going to this hotel when it only had like 19 rooms and it was a small place but sense then it has done a major upgrade and its very modern and Eco-Friendly. A great place to stay if you are on a business trip or traveling with your significant other, Not for the single traveler that's in Costa Rica for the nightlife.

Room Tip: Get the new rooms they are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Kelsy,

Thank your for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We always enjoy having you and your friends with us! We look forward to see you soon!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Isla Verde Hotel was the right option for us for our last night in Costa Rica. The room was nice and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We had to leave very early the next morning to catch a flight and so were thankful for our send-off of packed breakfasts and freshly brewed coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We like to give the courtesy to our early check out guests, of a take out snack -cookies, fruit, juice and coffee-.

We look forward to see you again next time in San José!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We own a home in Guanacaste but had to attend some meetings in San Jose, so chose this hotel by viewing other reviews online and it didn't disappoint. The location is excellent being not far from the airport and close to the US Embassy. The area is very safe. The restaurant was great as well as the complimentary breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Wades10831,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to hear you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We look forward to see again!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been to CR many times and was tired of the same huge hotel chains. Isla Verde has the same comfortable rooms as you would get at any other hotel. The staff is fantastic and being a small hotel, you instantly feel the small family warmth. The food is very good, the hotel started as an excellent Chinese restaurant that expanded. So if you visit, they will not have the huge expanded menu at other hotels, but that is ok. I like the location in Rohrmoser, which is very close to the US embassy. Bottom line - if you want to try a great local hotel with great food & service in a good part of down, Isla Verde is a great choice.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that touch the indoor garden, to listen to the rain in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Ken,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We enjoyed having you as guest in our Hotel and we´re pleased to hear you felt the same way about us.

We hoped you enjoyed the tours in CR with your family and look forward to see you again next time in San José.

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Isla Verde twice in the last year. It is not only a very attractive, extremely clean and well appointed hotel, the hands-on owners are just the very best.
They are all so helpful and are ready to go out of their way to help you. the menu is a wide variety of very good Chinese food and they also have a nice breakfast.
I would highly recommend the Isla Verde for an in-town, very conveniently located and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Address: 2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Verde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.