We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern. Hip. Comfortable. Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Save Saved
You added Isla Verde Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Verde Hotel
2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern. Hip. Comfortable. Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife, 5 year old daughter and I stayed at Isla Verde for just one night prior to flying out of the San Jose International Airport. We booked it on a whim, and were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel!

The hotel itself is quite lovely, with the open atrium, clean simple lines and colors, and amenities (like an attached Asian restaurant! Yum!) and workout room. We stayed in a Superior room in the new wing of the hotel. So modern. So hip. So comfortable! The beds were some sort of amazing Simmons mattress--sort of like a Tempurpedic, but better!! And the bathroom was awesome with the rainshower shower head and beautiful simple design.

The free breakfast in the morning was simple, but tasty. The coffee however was not so great. :(

So, overall: Thumbs up for comfortable, stylish accommodation for a great value! Not a great fit if you need/want something to "do" while relaxing at the hotel. There's the workout room, but with no pool or hot tub, that might be a drawback for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter M,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, we want to thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

It satisfies us to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!

We´re sorry you didn´t like our coffee! We use a very well known pure coffee brand called "1820", so perhaps was sitting for a while when you had it during breakfast -we will be very careful with this-. However, we hope you´ve enjoyed the complimentary gourmet "Britt" coffee in your room.

Thanks again for choosing our Hotel and we look forward to have you again when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
24
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had an appointment at the US embassy which is literally an 8 minute walk from the hotel. Rooms were clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. There is some English speaking staff but most are Spanish only speakers. Expected as it is in a Spanish speaking country. 1 interesting thing is that the AC is activated by putting your room key in a slot inside the room. Keeps people from wasting electricity by leaving the AC on while they are out of the room. Included breakfast was good, not amazing. I would definitely stay here again if in San Jose. Only negative was we had a room facing the street. Don't care about the view but noise from passing traffic will make me request a different room location next time I stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the street. Noise from passing traffic can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ASWENS180,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

As part of our sustainability program, all our new rooms (Deluxe rooms) on our new building are energy and water saver. All the electric system works with guests room key, all toilets use rain water on raining season, all lights are LED lighting, and all windows are Pella double window insulated glass windows, which helps minimize the noise of the rooms facing the street.

I believe you stayed on our Standard rooms -based on the description you made-, which are in our "old" building. The traffic on the main street has increased considerably, so we will soon replace the windows of all Standard rooms to Pella double window insulated glass Windows, and reduce the noise from the street.

We truly appreciate your comments, as it is of great importance for us to help improve our business and quality of service.

We hope to have you again when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Service Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed by myself for two weeks during cosmetic surgery. Location was perfect for me; less than a block from doctor's office, and withing walking distance of grocery store, some shopping, and eateries. Staff was so helpful, arranging all taxis for me and answering questions about where to find specific items I wanted to purchase. I stayed in a "deluxe" single room, which was very clean, comfortable, and comparable to a Best Western Hotel. Wireless service was flawless; I used my laptop for hours in my room. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Work_PlayLive2Luv,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, we want to thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to have you and we all enjoyed the chocolates you gave us!

Thanks for choosing us, and we look forward to have you next time when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

a fantastic experience, owners were awesome and always helpful. it was very convenient for getting a cab or bus for travel into the city or surrounding areas. the breakfast and coffee were good and the entire facility and rooms were super clean. thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Judith J,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, I want to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, as it encourages us to become better every day.

We look forward to have you again when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been there with my wife for 2 nights.
The rooms in the new section are great: new design, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The best staff we've ever stayed with.
We forgot our money and cameras in the room safe, and discovered that when we were already at the airport. We called the hotel and they sent us right away a taxi with our stuff sealed in a bag (obviousely we payed for the taxi).

Room Tip: take a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Netanel,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are very pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, and trust you had a safe trip back home.

We look forward to have you and your wife again when in San José!

All the best!

Lucia Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed at Isla Verde on a short business trip, the hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help me and my colleagues with everything we needed. The restaurant is very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Beth M,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you and colleagues enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to have you again when in San José -hopefully for pleasure-!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here only one night but was extremely impressed. It felt like a 5 star hotel for the service but at an amazingly good price. Especially when you get free taxi rides to and from Pavas Airport. I flew in was picked up, taken to the hotel, allowed to check in really early because of my flight, helped to arrange my next day travels with another free taxi ride, and a snack to go since I missed the free breakfast. The place is really clean, nicely updated, good room, comfortable bed, TV, computers to use, and good Wi-Fi. I would definitely recommend this place and if you are in between flights at Pavas Airport it wouldn't make sense to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I took the cheaper of the rooms, the newly updated one's are a bit more, and was still really pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Address: 2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Verde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.