We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Save Saved
You added Isla Verde Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Verde Hotel
2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed by myself for two weeks during cosmetic surgery. Location was perfect for me; less than a block from doctor's office, and withing walking distance of grocery store, some shopping, and eateries. Staff was so helpful, arranging all taxis for me and answering questions about where to find specific items I wanted to purchase. I stayed in a "deluxe" single room, which was very clean, comfortable, and comparable to a Best Western Hotel. Wireless service was flawless; I used my laptop for hours in my room. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Work_PlayLive2Luv,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, we want to thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to have you and we all enjoyed the chocolates you gave us!

Thanks for choosing us, and we look forward to have you next time when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
24
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

a fantastic experience, owners were awesome and always helpful. it was very convenient for getting a cab or bus for travel into the city or surrounding areas. the breakfast and coffee were good and the entire facility and rooms were super clean. thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Judith J,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, I want to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, as it encourages us to become better every day.

We look forward to have you again when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been there with my wife for 2 nights.
The rooms in the new section are great: new design, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The best staff we've ever stayed with.
We forgot our money and cameras in the room safe, and discovered that when we were already at the airport. We called the hotel and they sent us right away a taxi with our stuff sealed in a bag (obviousely we payed for the taxi).

Room Tip: take a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Netanel,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are very pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, and trust you had a safe trip back home.

We look forward to have you and your wife again when in San José!

All the best!

Lucia Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed at Isla Verde on a short business trip, the hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help me and my colleagues with everything we needed. The restaurant is very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Beth M,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you and colleagues enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to have you again when in San José -hopefully for pleasure-!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here only one night but was extremely impressed. It felt like a 5 star hotel for the service but at an amazingly good price. Especially when you get free taxi rides to and from Pavas Airport. I flew in was picked up, taken to the hotel, allowed to check in really early because of my flight, helped to arrange my next day travels with another free taxi ride, and a snack to go since I missed the free breakfast. The place is really clean, nicely updated, good room, comfortable bed, TV, computers to use, and good Wi-Fi. I would definitely recommend this place and if you are in between flights at Pavas Airport it wouldn't make sense to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I took the cheaper of the rooms, the newly updated one's are a bit more, and was still really pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is literally an oasis - you walk through the doors and feel at home and relaxed by the wonderful atmosphere complete with indoor atrium and seating/social area. Excellent wifi keeps connecting with the outside world easy - if you want to. The owners are wonderful and caring and will make sure you have a top notch stay. The meals available in the attached restaurant are excellent and inexpensive, vegetarians will find it easy to meet their dietary needs here. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern, and wonderful. The shower alone is worth the stay - modern and great water pressure. The buses to nearby downtown run by just outside the hotel, and a small convenience grocery store is within two blocks walking distance. The area is safe for walking or running nearby - if you are looking for a great base camp for San Jose and surrounding area - this is a great choice at a very attractive price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just ran a large scale airborne mission in Costa Rica, called MAC13. Our research team stayed at Isla Verde for almost two weeks and I don't have a single complain. The staff understood from day 1 the seriousness and complexity of our project and provided full support. Needless to say, everybody in the hotel made our life easier. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Address: 2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Verde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.