We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilled all the expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Save Saved
You added Isla Verde Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Verde Hotel
2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Fulfilled all the expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just ran a large scale airborne mission in Costa Rica, called MAC13. Our research team stayed at Isla Verde for almost two weeks and I don't have a single complain. The staff understood from day 1 the seriousness and complexity of our project and provided full support. Needless to say, everybody in the hotel made our life easier. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here 1 night, after arriving flying in late at night from the US. The day after I took an early morning flight with Nature Air from the domestic airport Pavas.

The hotel was ideal for this; it is only 5 minutes from Pavas and the taxi to Pavas was included in the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean, service was very good (also in the booking process, which I did via email) and we had a nice breakfast. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the restaurant or explore the area, .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Location is great if you need something from the US Embassy two blocks away or are going to the airport at Pavas. The area has some good restaurants but the hotels' restaurant was great. Cantonese menu with nice pot stickers if you want a light meal. The standard room is OK, beds are comfortable and not too much street noise. The new sections rooms are nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Front Office Manager at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Harvey38,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, we want to thank you for taking the time in posting your comments and tips.

In fact, we have recently made new improvements in our Hotel. We just opened our gym -small but with the basic equipment enough for a good workout-, and soon we will be replacing all windows in our Standard rooms that face the main street -with insulated, double pane, argon gas in between panes, windows- in order to reduce the noise and heat coming from the street.

We look forward in having you back and check out our improvements!

Thanks again!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Isla Verde hotel for one night before a flight I had out of Pavas. When I arrived Veronica checked me in and was very helpful. I had a recently renovated deluxe room which had a bed, flat screen tv, nice bathroom, desk and patio. The room also had Internet access which was a plus. There isn't too much in the area so I decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. I did not care for the food. The hot and sour soup was very thick and tasted funny but the egg rolls were ok. For the two items it was over $10 which is excessive. I recommend to eat elsewhere but the hotel is very nice.

Also the hotel arranged a taxi for me in the morning and prepared a to go bag since my flight left before breakfast started at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was traveling with a group of friends during our recent trip to costa rica when one of our bags got stolen with my friend's passport in it. We had to take a long bus ride back to san jose for the us embassy and we came across this hotel only about 2 blocks from it. We were tired and hungry and the lady at the front desk was a life saver for us. her name was luica and she was amazing. so sweet and so helpful. she answered all our questions and even printed out things from the internet to help us. It was just what we needed after what had happend. a hope that the rest of our vacation would get better. The rooms were very clean and the free internet access was a good thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is just as nice as any 4 star U.S. hotel without the spa. I stayed a couple of weeks here and it was always clean, comfortable and secure. They also did a great job with my laundry and dry cleaning. Nice comfortable room and bedding with the best Chinese restaurant in San Jose

Room Tip: no fitness center or pool but perfect in every other catagory
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Found this great place only about 2 blocks from the US Embassy in San Jose (pavas). Super clean and very quiet. Have stayed their on 2 seperate trips now. Rates are also good. I use this hotel now as a base to fly the local air carrier ( Nature Air Lines) The hotell is only about 2k from the airport at Pavas. Food is great also.. Well worth checking it out!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Address: 2 blocks West from US Embassy | Pavas, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Verde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.