We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ritorno

Il Ritorno
200 m South from KFC, La California, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2225-0543
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 348 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sapphire, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The atmosphere is old Italy and the handmade pasta is a melt in the mouth favorite. The sea bass is great as is the fettuccine and the spaghetti carbonara. A great value with pleasant staff and nice surroundings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always good, Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant continues to give the excellent service the past owner taught the clientelle and personnell that should be given at a restaurant. Toni was the owner and he was there personally preparing the food to be served, He had a restaurant sold it and went to Italy, but evidently he had become used to Costa Rica and returned to the emblematica Casa Italia in Barrio Francisco Peralta in San José; thus the name of the restaurant, Il Ritorno. Italian food is hard to compete, since there are so many restaurants catering for the same clientelle, but this one is among the best. Although I have been there countless times, I was pleasently surprised to find that the quality has no deminissed and the good service is still there. You will like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Returning to Il Ritorno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During our 2011 visit to San Jose we got a recommendation from the tour desk in our hotel for Il Ritorno. We dined there a few times and were so impressed that we returned in January 2013.

Each visit required a 15 minutes taxi from our downtown San Jose’s hotel to Casa Italia in San Pedro, but it was worth it. Mushroom appetizers, Pizza Margarita and Pasta with Tomato-Basil sauce were consistently good, though the pasta was too heavy on garlic during our last visit. We tried all the desserts on the menu but did not like any.

During our last visit we saw a party of four men arguing with the waiter over their bill. When we got our check we noticed that prices on two dishes were higher than the menu’s. We notified the waiter and got a correction on one.

Though we had a sweet Panna Cotta just a few minutes prior, this incident left a bitter taste in the mouth. To return or not to return, that is the question.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Unión, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Italian food and prices are very good. The restaurant is small and quiet, great place to have a great dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is still one of my favorite places to have lunch. Not only the service is outstanding but also food is prepared by the owner. You'll find yourself having lunch with very known people. Want a pizza? pasta? everything is great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ritorno also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Ritorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ritorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.