We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good, Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ritorno

Il Ritorno
200 m South from KFC, La California, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2225-0543
Update restaurant details
Ranked #42 of 285 restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always good, Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant continues to give the excellent service the past owner taught the clientelle and personnell that should be given at a restaurant. Toni was the owner and he was there personally preparing the food to be served, He had a restaurant sold it and went to Italy, but evidently he had become used to Costa Rica and returned to the emblematica Casa Italia in Barrio Francisco Peralta in San José; thus the name of the restaurant, Il Ritorno. Italian food is hard to compete, since there are so many restaurants catering for the same clientelle, but this one is among the best. Although I have been there countless times, I was pleasently surprised to find that the quality has no deminissed and the good service is still there. You will like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    16
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Returning to Il Ritorno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During our 2011 visit to San Jose we got a recommendation from the tour desk in our hotel for Il Ritorno. We dined there a few times and were so impressed that we returned in January 2013.

Each visit required a 15 minutes taxi from our downtown San Jose’s hotel to Casa Italia in San Pedro, but it was worth it. Mushroom appetizers, Pizza Margarita and Pasta with Tomato-Basil sauce were consistently good, though the pasta was too heavy on garlic during our last visit. We tried all the desserts on the menu but did not like any.

During our last visit we saw a party of four men arguing with the waiter over their bill. When we got our check we noticed that prices on two dishes were higher than the menu’s. We notified the waiter and got a correction on one.

Though we had a sweet Panna Cotta just a few minutes prior, this incident left a bitter taste in the mouth. To return or not to return, that is the question.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Unión, Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Italian food and prices are very good. The restaurant is small and quiet, great place to have a great dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is still one of my favorite places to have lunch. Not only the service is outstanding but also food is prepared by the owner. You'll find yourself having lunch with very known people. Want a pizza? pasta? everything is great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Been sold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was sold.The original owner.Went and opened up a new restaurant.Food I thought and service was better with previous guys.food is excellent.Just not the same atmosphere as it was with the old guy.he was quite a character.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ritorno also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Ritorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ritorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.