We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ho(s)tel, quite noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Casa Colon to your Saves list
Hostel Casa Colon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Ho(s)tel, quite noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hostel quite a few times since the start of 2012. I keep going back and having had some quite different stays there I am now starting to weigh up whether I actually think it is worth the extra money over other hostels in San Jose (of which I have been to about 5 others).
Starting with the good points. I like that there is a bar and restaurant in the hostel as sometimes this can just be more convenient (and nicer) than the ample supply of fast food chains on Paseo Colon. The rooms and bathrooms are always spotless and the beds comfy. The place feels more like a hotel rather than a hostel. The cleaners are always milling around and the staff are friendly and happy to help.
On the downside, some of the rooms are really noisy through the night and the morning. One of them to the point that i couldnt sleep in there as every 2 minutes the beeping of the pedestrian crossing by it would go off. Many people have commented on the noise before and this is just what you get with a hostel situated on Paseo Colon. However, the noise from the restaurant and bar has also been too much on a couple of occasions. If this was down to people staying at the hostel then you just have to take it, but the owners seem to put on a lot of functions for large groups. As someone else also commented, this can make the location of the downstairs bathrooms somewhat tricky if you are in a dorm and need to walk through the bar to get to the shower! At the beginning they also seemed to have many wifi and hot water problems, but this seems to have been rectified now. The wifi isnt the fasted I have had in a hostel still though.
The breakfast is nice, but as you need to pay $5 extra for the basic breakfast this isn't great value compared to other hostels that will give you pancakes/fruit and include in the bed price which is already cheaper.
Overall, I think that maybe it isn't worth staying here (compared to other hostels in San Jose) if your budget is stretched. But if you end up here you will be happy.

Room Tip: Refuse the dorm at the bottom of the stairs (Room 101, I think) as it is by far the noisiest and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
33
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

More of a hotel with dorm rooms. You have to walk through the restaurant to get to the bathroom. Right on a busy junction of Paseo Colon so it's really noisy. Electronic room keys stopped working after 1/2hr and the front door is kept locked - that's great for safety but when there's no one on the front desk (often) you can't get in. It's ok for a stop over as it has clean comfortable beds but avoid the rip off breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, General Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We are a city Hostel located in the main avenue in San Jose near bus stops to everywhere in the country, near restaurants, night entertainment, museums and much more. We do have our special ear plugs for those noisy mornings and some of our customers are doing very well with them. We care very much for our security so that is why we kept the main door closed. So sorry you have to wait a little bit to get the door opened. We promise that wont happen again. We serve a very healthy basic typicall breakfast for our clients included in most of our low hostel rates. Offcourse we charge a little bit more for a complex breakfast like in everywere else, but we are definitely above the common.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was my first time at a hostel, so I didn't have anything to compare it to. I would definitely stay here again. The first night I stayed in a room with my son (14) in a six bed dorm, the second night we moved to another six bed dorm with an attached bathroom. The rooms were basic but very clean. There were three bunk-beds and a small nightstand in each room. No chairs or storage in the rooms. The showers were tremendous. Lots of hot water and plenty of pressure. Very refreshing.

Lots of space to spread out in the common areas. They were not full so I almost felt like I had the place to myself especially in the morning. Grab a couple of pastries at the bakery a block and a half toward town (east), then go to the kitchen area and grab a cup of complementary coffee and go up to the balcony to watch the world go by. The hostel sits on a major intersection of a central boulevard, so street noise is an issue, but nothing a set of ear plugs can't fix. The second story balcony at the front of the hostel is excellent for people watching.

There's a large central cafe area that serves bocas and drinks in the afternoon and evening. Off that area are a couple lounges, and lots of couches in the halls. Security is good (I felt safe) with discrete security cameras all over the place. As I mentioned before I had to change rooms during my stay, and the staff (maid?) moved my stuff for me while I was out on the town during the day.

Clean, safe and great price. Thanks.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hostel is one of the best I have seen. It was so nice to pay a little extra and have a great double room, with a good breakfast, with a great bathroom, and a big screen tv. The beds were good quality, shower had hot water, and they provided great soaps and shampoo. The hostel was very clean and those noise level was low. I read a lot about street noise, but it didn't bother us with the doors and windows closed. The staff was really nice and helpful, they seemed to genuinely want to help the customers.
The location was also really good, right downtown, close to lots of restaurants and lots of taxis ready to take you anywhere.
My one complaint about the hostel is the front door. It is always locked, which is GREAT, but upon arrival, one has to ring a bell, and if no one is at reception, you have to wait or flag down a hostel guest to open the door. This in my mind defeats the purpose of having the door locked in the first place, as a guest is likely to open the door for anyone. They need key card access, like what they have for the rooms.
The other side of this hostel is the onsite restaurant. I would just avoid this place, it is expensive and the food isn't very good. I had vegetarian quesadillas, and they had a ton of broccoli and an unidentifiable vegetable. What? They were not good especially for almost $6. My husband had nachos and they were also made with fake cheese. You would be better off walking up the street and eating at one of the many restaurants on Paseo Colon.
Overall, this is a very charming hostel, in an amazing remodeled building, with good staff and great rooms, just avoid the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 201 is a great double room with a balcony right on Paseo Colon. There is a little street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The hostel and staff were awesome. Other guests were interesting. The information about the city and tours were very helpful since I had never been to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room upstairs in the back as the front rooms are convenient but extremely noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Wow!! This place is nice. Seriously feel like you are staying in an upscale hotel. They have nice lounge area with huge flat screen TV. Even some of the private rooms have flat screens. They have an upstairs open air seating area and chairs and couches are all throughout the hotel to find your own spot.

They also have a bar and restaurant. I only had the breakfast but the menu looks good and prices are standard for Costa Rica I guess. I opted for the dorm room for $14 but you can pay $19 and have a decent breakfast includeid also. Clean linens and the ladies make your bed for you everyday. Friendly helpful staff.

There is an ATM across the street and a couple of other restaurants next door. The Chinese joint is ok but forget about the Italian place. Overpriced and crap food. Walking distance to other places and also the downtown shopping area.

Make use of the shuttle too. They have small lockers but this place seems to have decent security.

Room Tip: Go with the private room with flat screen TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

El lugar esta impecable muebles nuevos, recien remodelado, amplios sillones, etc, etc, pero el problema es que como hostal no es para nada practico dificilmente se pueda acomodarse como uno quiera ya que el ambiente es mas bien de "etiqueta" y bastante esteril. Lo mismo pensaron mis amigos alemanes con quienes estaba, ademas 14 dolares por una cama en dormitorio la noche es un tanto esxcesivo.
Tiene un restaurante (no puedo dar opinion de el ya que no comimos ahi) y una barra donde un barman de estricta camisa blanca sirve los tragos.
A la noche nos topamos con un monton de señores y señoras siempre de camisa y de pantalon de vestir invadiendo el salon del restaurant, decidimos irnos a una pequeña terraza que tiene una cascada en la pared, pero no habia mucha gente con quien interactuar, en fin decidimos ir a acostarnos a dormir, ya que San Jose como ciudad no tiene mucho que ofrecer preferimos salir temprano a la playa.
Los cuartos estan bien todo luce nuevo pero sin alma de hostel definitivamente, no hay pinturas no hay artes en la paredes no hay nada "esteril" (otra vez como al principio del review)
A la mañana siguente nos sirvieron un desayuno basico pero esta bien por el precio el problema es que el cafe estaba frio y el jugo que nos sirvieron un poco tibio.
En fin el Hostal Casa Colon es un hibrido entre un Hotel y un Hostel que deja un sabor desabrido.

Room Tip: Elijan los cuartos que no dan a la calle, ya que los bocinazos y los autos acelerando no dejan dormi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hostel Casa Colon Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Casa Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.