We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Abierta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abierta
Save
You added Casa Abierta to your Saves list
San Jose, Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Darryl is extremely friendly and Maria is an excellent cook. There was fresh fruit, coffee and tea, and a variety of pastries for breakfast. Darryl is attentive and a great resource. The space is clean and relaxing with a variety of art and local flowers occupying the rooms. Darryl arranged for a ride from the airport, reducing the stress of travel in a foreign country. We enjoyed talking with Darryl, as he has many interesting stories to share. I highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
52
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What can I say? When you are traveling to another country it's always special when a place feels like home. This is the ambience of Casa Abierta.
Our host, Darrylle, was most gracious. He keeps a tidy, organized B&B with healthy breakfasts, good conversation and a comfortable setting. Situated in a secure setting in San Pedro, near downtown San Jose, Casa Abierta is a tranquil respite from the city. There is a small, peaceful garden & fountain and a spacious living area on the first floor.
Rooms are sufficient size, sharing a contemporary designer bathroom. Beds are extremely comfortable and it's nice to crack the window for a breeze. Darrylle will pick up guests and deliver them to Casa Abierta for $50. Well worth it since most streets in Costa Rica are organized haphazardly and many taxi drivers are just guessing as to where they are going. Plus, you can avoid the mob of taxi drivers hounding you at the airport, marching confidently past them to meet your host.
All in all, a good stay with a good host. If you staying in the capital, this is the best B&B in San Jose, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Have Darrylle or his staff pick you up at the airport for $50. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Welcomed with open arms and homemade cookies, my sister and I immediately felt the warmth and beauty of this stopping place and its hosts. A perfect location, as well, to see downtown San Jose and take short trips from. Darrylle is the ultimate example of delightful hospitality. Marvelous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our two weeks vacation at Casa Abierta and it was one of the best choices we made during the trip. We loved the place!! The house was beautiful and the room was very clean and cozy. We felt so comfortable that we came home early every day and spent our evenings chatting with Darrylle and Bill. We had very interesting conversations and learned a lot. Darrylle was always helpful when planning our trips around San Jose, and also, Darrylle's cakes were soooo good!! We are so happy to have become friends with Darrylle and Bill. I highly recommend this place.

* Casa Arbieta is located in a very safe neighborhood. It takes about 20-30 mins walk to downtown San Jose. There is also a bus you could take that drives down Av.2. We found a bus stop somewhere across the National Theater at Av.2. Take the bus that goes to San Pedro Mall and then get off in front of the Italian embassy (or when you see a Hyundai car dealer's place across the street) It's only about 5 mins walk to the house from here. We found it on our last day so we only took it once on our way back home, but probably it will also work when going to downtown.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Abierta the first night we landed in Costa Rica. This was a brief stopover for us. Our flight got in late and we had to leave very early the next morning in order to make our bus to Monteverde, so we did not have much time to enjoy the wonderful accommodations at Casa Abierta, but we were very impressed in the short time we had. Mary was a wonderful host, staying up late to greet us and make sure we had a pleasant arrival and waking up early to see us off and be sure we made our bus on time. Leaving at 5:30 am we certainly did not expect breakfast would be prepared for us and yet Mary served us a wonderful, delicious breakfast with rice and beans, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs, plantains, and coffee. It was a wonderful way to start off the morning before our second day of traveling and much more than we expected given the early hour of our departure. The room we stayed in was cozy and comfortable. If we find ourselves in San Jose again for a longer period of time this will be the first place we look to stay. Thank you Mary, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. It was the first place we stayed after getting off the plane in San Jose, and we had been told that we needed to be very cautious about where we went and stayed while we were there.

Casa Abierta is a beautiful, peaceful haven in San Jose. We felt so welcomed and safe while we were there. The rooms are clean, beautiful, and extremely comfortable. Mary and Darrell are two of the kindest, most engaging people I have ever met. Their company, alone, is worth the stay

You just get ready for the amazing food they serve during breakfast! Everything is so fresh, and it is a balanced, delicious, and filling meal.

I highly recommend staying here for as long as possible while you are in San Jose. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Casa Abierta was the best welcome to Costa Rica, we felt safe and at home. Darrylle and Mary helped us in everything they could and shared the most wonderful conversations. Breakfast was superb! The room was very comfortable, the house is lovely and the fountain garden is the most delicate touch. Darrylle and Mary made our stay delightful! Thank you so much for this wonderful experience, it was nourishing in every way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Abierta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta

Address: San Jose, Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go. We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, Share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. Casa Abierta is a project of Leading Change, a Costa Rican non-profit association whose purpose is to promote the transition to a more equitable, conscious and sustainable world through education, model business projects and building mutually beneficial alliances with other agents of positive change. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Abierta Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Abierta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.