We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritzli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ritzli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ritzli
Calle 0 , avenida 8-10 | 250 Mts Sur del Parque central, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 86 hotels in San Jose
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good value for money, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms and especially bathrooms are small, but everything is very clean. Very convenient location to downtown and the central market. Staff is exceptionally friendly.The breakfast is alright - ham and eggs, toast and jam, fresh fruit. If you expect more - pay a higher price and book a different hotel. Like I said - fair value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the tail end of a Lindblad/National Geographic Panama Canal/CR islands and parks "expedition". The Ritzli is centrally located, within easy walking distance of the main sights in San Jose, what there are of them that is. The staff is cheerful and helpful and the rates are cheap.
Our room had a safe, flat screen TV, and a quiet area fan. The bed had clean linens, but was in sore need of a new mattress. Only cold water was piped to the sink. The hotel could use a renovation or at least a paint job.
Breakfast was included, simple but adequate: good coffee, juice, fresh bread, eggs to order and delicious fresh pineapple.
In summary if your looking for the Ritz, this is not it. However if you're young in age or heart and on a tight budget, you may find it a good value.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room on the back side of the hotel. No view. I suspect rooms that look out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a group tour. The general consensus of the group was that the rooms were unclean.
Upon arrival I had a shower in the bathroom which was no larger than 2m by 2.5m which consisted of a shower and toilet with the basin in the bed room. The shower drain smelt like urine and there was no cutain in the bath room so the rooms adjacent to the courtyard could see through to the bathroom.
The bed sheets were clearly not washed as it had someone else's hair on it and the pillows were extremely old and way passed there used by date.
The location was in a rough street I would not recommend walking alone at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at this place for a night before venturing out to other areas of Costa Rica. The photos online looked pretty good, but the room ended up being a disappointment. There was no top sheet on the bed - only a bottom sheet and a comforter that was clearly not washed with each use. The bathroom was clean but very run-down with bandaid fixes, and the floor mats and rugs were stained and dirty. No A/C , and you can find much better places for $50, especially in Alajeula. On the plus side, the owner was nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Ritzli 4 times now. I go there when I have appointments at Clinica Biblica and want to shop downtown. The hotel is just 4 blocks north of Biblica, 4 blocks south of the major shopping area on Calle Central. It is possible to walk from the Ritzli to the Coca Cola bus station area (it is a good long walk, but not difficult).
The staff at the Ritzli are very kind and helpful. The hotel is always clean and quiet. There are rooms located near the front of the hotel adjacent to Calle Central, but I've always received a room well off the street. They offer a free sparse continental breakfast in the morning (usually just toast, juice and coffee. On my last visit they included fresh fruit.). I ordered a real breakfast once and found it to be overpriced for what I received. Best to just grab something in one of the local restaurants if you need a hearty meal.
They have allowed me to stow my luggage when I knew my appts. were going to run long.
I appreciate having a safe convenient, quiet, clean space to stay when I must visit downtown San Jose. It's where I will continue to stay when in that part of the city. Note that beds are full size. Sheets are not cotton. Bring your own shampoo. A couple of the rooms have the bathroom adjacent to your room rather than opening into your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well back from Calle Central. Some bathrooms are quite small. If you need a large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Convenient location. Able to walk to downtown sights and shops. Affordable hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed in San Jose for an extended weekend. I needed a cheap place to rest my head at night and which would allow me easy access to downtown's Gold Museum and the Avenida Central pedestrian shopping mall.
Hotel Ritzli is a few blocks south of the Parque Central, which makes it really the perfect location to walk anywhere of interest in San Jose.
The decor is rather austere in a Swiss/German practical style, but it was clean and quiet!
The cheapest room is $32, a single bed with no private bath. However the bath is right next door and no other guests use the one assigned to your room. I also had a 10% discount from a local map, so my total came to $28 - with breakfast included! You can get your own bath for a little more. I had no TV but there is free Wi-Fi in the common areas.
Once again, for a short stay in downtown, this was just perfect! I did not walk around the area at night since I was travelling solo, but during the day it is perfectly safe and the area is lively.

On an unrelated note: I really enjoyed the Tico Tour walking tour at 10am in front of the Teatro Nacional as well. The tour guide, a historian, was knowledgeable and really allowed us foreigners a peek into the heart of San Jose, as it once might have been. You can easily walk there from the Ritzli Hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ritzli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritzli

Address: Calle 0 , avenida 8-10 | 250 Mts Sur del Parque central, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 86 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ritzli offers one of the best locations for seeing the capital of Costa Rica – San José. Owing to our well-known hospitality, Hotel Ritzli has been the meeting point for thousands of travelers that have visited Costa Rica. Ritzli Hotel offers 16 contemporary rooms distributed among three floors. Each room is easily accessible and comes with a private bathroom and views of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Ritzli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ritzli Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritzli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.