We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, & will probably stay there next trip to San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meson del Angel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Meson del Angel
Save
You added Hotel Meson del Angel to your Saves list
Calle 20, San Jose (centro), San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Catawba, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great price, & will probably stay there next trip to San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel is very reasonable, around $65 for a room with 2 beds. There was a lock box for valuables, tv, wi-fi, had it's own bathroom. There was no A/C but that is pretty typical of many hotels in Costa Rica. We felt like we were in a safe location and walking distance from a large selection of restaurants. We only stayed one night, and breakfast was included. Keep in mind if you have never traveled out of the US that hotels in other countries should not be compared to the hotels in the US unless you want to pay a huge amount for a room. I would stay there again if we are in San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: no Air Conditioning but the typical open style windows in Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

They were not service-minded at all and the whole hotel is worn down. We did not get the 10% discount they claim to give to people traveling with Transnica, the wireless does not work in the room so instead they charge you for using their computers downstairs, the room was shabby and smelled like smoke, the breakfast was mediocre, the staff was grumpy. I would not stay at this hotel for more than a night.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeson, General Manager at Hotel Meson del Angel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
First of all we want to apologize, because you feel that our service wasn’t good for you. Them we want to explain some of our work here.

- The 10% of discount it’s a project for the future, right now is not a reality yet. We are working hard to give you that kind of service.

- We have special areas to use wireless like the terrace and or dining room, if they are not working we offer you the option of our computers charging you just $2 USD for one hour.

- In the hotel we have two kind of room, the smoking one and the non smoking. If your rooms smelled like smoke that’s probably you were in one of them. In the hotel we have the option that If you are not agree with you room you are in all your right to change the room in that same moment.

- We have 3 different breakfasts: typical, continental and American breakfast, the same with the room, if you weren’t happy you can call the receptionist and ask for a change.
Again we are sorry for all the inconvenient you have, but at the same we time we are thanks you to help us to work more and more in our service.

General Manager
Hotel Mesón del Ángel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I arrived at this Hotel directly from the airport. The taxi driver brought me there, he told me that it was a very secure and quiet place. The room are very spacious and clean, we did have tv, a balcony a ver spacious bathroom. It was very nice. The breakfest wasnt that good but it was ok. This hotel is near everything! We were like 10 minutes from downtown + 4 minutes from the bus station. We took the bus to Jaco Beach for like 2$. I recomend this hotel

Room Tip: We have the 108 room only 1 with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Cost us $55 to stay at a hostel! Dirty bed sheets, no fan, dirty bathrooms. Overall I feel like they over charged us like crazy!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeson, General Manager at Hotel Meson del Angel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear costumer

We feel really sorry about your bad experience here with us. Every day we try to improve our service, so we thank you to let us know about your feeling about us, we are going to take different actions to be better.

General Manager
Hotel Mesón del Ángel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meson del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Angel

Address: Calle 20, San Jose (centro), San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hotel Meson Del Angel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meson del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.