We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And now for something completely different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant la Terrasse

Restaurant la Terrasse
Avenida 9, Calle 15 | 25 metros al sur del Hotel La Amistad, San Jose 100, Costa Rica
+506 8939 8470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 311 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a unique restaurant for San Jose. Run by a French husband/wife team. She cooks, he runs the tables, of which there are only four, in the first floor of their house. Our reservation was early (7:00pm) so we were the only ones there when we arrived. Wonderful personal attention, great food with fresh ingredients, and a wide choice of French style preparations. Short wine list, but the recommendation was excellent and not too pricey. If you are up for something completely different in San Jose, this is the place to go. Book early.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    38
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“La Terrasse.. an experience for all your senses..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The restaurant is one of a kind as the entire experience is unique. This is a must for tourists and locals. To start, the restaurant is located around beautiful neighborhoods such as Barrio Amon. The place is beautifully decorated and is recommended to those who love to share a great dinner with special people in a very intimate atmosphere. Take into account that reservation is required, specially if you consider that the max. capacity is 12 people. This gives you an idea how personalized is the experience as the owners, Patricia and Gerald share time with those willing to taste real French cuisine. The wine selection is great and the menu provides several options in between appetizers, main dishes and desserts. I recommend checking the restaurant's site in advance, to facilitate your decision on what to taste! I have to admit that I have tried French restaurants in the past, but never had dishes with such great taste, presentation, and amazing atmosphere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“THE CHARM OF GERALD AND THE FLAVOR OF PATRICIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

this very small, ten seat, husband and wife owned and operated restaurant offers a unique dining experience that is not available anywhere else in costa rica. from the very private entrance to the intimate atmosphere, from gerald's pampering to patricia's immaculate presentation and delicately prepared plates you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An wonderful meal and evening San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you enjoy French food, eating slowly and savoring your meal this is the place for you. Patricia and Gerald will spend the night pampering you in their 12 table restaurant. I had the homemade pate and blanquette de veau, it was delicious. My husband had the scallops and the honey basil sauce was amazing! I would go back to San Jose just to eat there again. Thank you Patricia and Gerald for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The restaurant only seats about 12 people so make a reservation or you may have to look elsewhere. Perfect restaurant for couples. I dont usually like meat, this though was tender, fabulous food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant la Terrasse also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurant la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant la Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.