We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights on an O.A.T. Trip. Efficient but boring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham to your Saves list
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“2 nights on an O.A.T. Trip. Efficient but boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice, helpful staff, good location, clean and well appointed rooms. We had no noise issues, as noted by others, from the nightclub.
Only regret was the box breakfast. We were to leave at 6 am so the hotel "prepared " a box which, they told one of our group, would contain a sandwich, fruit, etc. When we got the box, it was a little white bag and it had snack packs of peanuts, crackers and a power bar from 1920 (ie, stale). Lousy and offensive, could have easily been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    207
    59
    16
    5
See reviews for
68
137
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is nice and clean. The restaurant is good. The staff of very helpful and friendly. They will sell you Colones if you need them, and they will book long distance transportation and suggest day trips. transportation service is convenient. However, the water is the sink was backed up the entire time, the silverware was dirty, and the driver of the shuttle service didnt want to pick us up from anywhere we were dropped off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here twice on our trip when we had to spend a night in SJ, and couldn't have been happier. Jorge at reception was excepionally friendly and helpful. The rooms we got were top notch, very comfy beds, big bathroom, clean etc, and all this at a very decent price.
The on-site restaurant is actually excellent, far exceeding my expectations. My GF had a great seabass and I the tuna tartare, both really very nice (and big portions to boot). The breakfast was also very good. On one of the days a chef was actually making your omelettes right in front of you.
We didn't really explore the surroundings, but the comments about being in walking distance to the center appear a little fancyful. But taxis are cheap and safer than walking some parts of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice, at the beginning and end of my trip to Costa Rica, and enjoyed my stay very much. The restaurant is excellent, the beds exceedingly comfortable and free phone calls (inc international) and wifi a real plus. The only downside is the on-site/neighbouring nightclub - the music can be heard throughout the hotel. All night long. But I gather it isn't a regular event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Oaks, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Thank you to all the Superb and Excellent Staff!

Posted Jan 03, 2014

Pros: Modern, Location, Services, Staff profesionalism

Cons: Mini Bar

Location: You name it! You can do it!

I have been to Costa Rica several times but I have now found the PERFECT hotel to stay in. The hotel has NUMEROUS services in and around, it is a straight shot to Mercado Central, and it is beautiful and clean! Lorena, Oscar, Aproxi' and everyone were extremely courteous and professional! All meals were SUPERIOR and the service impeccable! Their additional help when I need the "extra" thing not in their job description were excellent and touching to see them go out of their way! I also received THREE (3) Christmas Presents from the staff which warmed my heart and had me very touched! Though I wanted to practice my Spanish many of the staff speak English and could not be more nice. I WILL BE COMING BACK TO THIS HOTEL SOLELY! Even next Christmas AND New Year.

The hotel Area is the BEST you can be! There are Numerous services in the building and outside, Banks, Post Office, Stores, Shops, and all the restaurants and American Fast food you can eat! The rooms are MODERN and comfortable and the elevator is FAST!!!

The Hotel offers a FREE - FULL breakfast, not a continental one or none at all the service and the selection is OUTSTANDING with fresh waffles and made to order omelets! It has a wide array of hot and fresh choices! The dining are is clean, modern and comfortable.

It also has beautiful views of San Jose! It is just in the right spot, right by the stadium and right on the edge of San Jose! You can walk to park or downtown easily! Rhapsody Night Club is right next to it for you night owls and a great Mexican Restaurant. Thank you all and I love you for all your help! Many of the staff even stated I was "QUAPO!" Wow! How touching! See you all soon! Dr./Prof Jil Ricks Facebook (search Jil Ricks)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

TRYP is such a great place to stay in San Jose. It's within walking distance to the center and market. Shops and supermarket is nearby. The rooms are clean and modern. Standard double has a very small bathroom, but we asked for a bigger room and got a super large room with bigger bathroom, kitchen and sitting area. Wifi is very fast and free. The staff is really friendly and there's a lot of security at the entrance. The restaurant and bar downstairs are really lovely and food is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Sabana Hotel By Wyndham Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.