We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Save Saved
You added Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #19 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    186
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
62
128
34
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great stay. Centrally located. Eclectic. Felt very safe and welcome in hotel. Breakfast was a hit with my 13 year old son who came to play soccer. We felt so comfortable and enjoyed our stay so much that we extended our stay 2 times during our right day visit! The staff was great. Our maid Eloisa was very hospitable & personable. She always had a smile and was okay with us not needing daily room cleaning. We went all the way to the Banco de Costa Rica near the Plaza de la Cultura to find that the exchange rate was better at the hotel! From that point on, we just exchanged at the hotel. You can't go wrong with this hotel. Only drawback is that there is not a free hotel shuttle. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was by far the best place I stayed in in Costa Rica. Hotel had well decorated rooms, both public and guest rooms. Included breakfast was an excellent buffet. I stayed in two different rooms, and both were quiet, but I understand that some rooms above entertainment rooms were noisy at night. Location was in not such a good area, but I was not in city long enough to do much walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only stayed one night before flying out of Costa Rica. Drive time to Airport is approx 25 minutes before rush hour traffic starts up. Cannot comment on location/neighborhood as it was quick stay. Very clean and spacious room. Nice beds. Restaurant was nice. The city noises are VERY loud and kept waking us up - even up on the 8th floor. Also - no window curtains to close - so also very bright. The shower temperature was never consistent. I ended up being frozen then scalded within seconds. Not a good nights sleep, would not stay here again. Oct 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Friendly staff, very clean rooms, big flat screen tv, great breakfast that is included in the price, great decor. A little noisy because of street noise, so close all the curtains and take ear plugs. Great local location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Sabana Hotel By Wyndham Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.