We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Save Saved
You added Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location if going for Soccer game at the national stadium (saw USA vs Costa Rica) Plus: Free parking, free international phone calls, free breakfast. Safe area with walking distance to convenience stores. Also check out the central pub across the street

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    193
    53
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
131
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can't think of a better blend. The hotel is nicely modern decorated. Rooms are quite comfortable. Anything not working up to your expectations? Ask for help you may be pleasantly surprised. Personnel makes the place better. Restaurant is good with a relatively small menu but very well executed. All things considered a very convenient and nice place to spend your time in costa rica.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A friendly Tryp Sabana Hotel receptionist greeted us upon arrival after a long, "hair-raising" stormy drive over the mountains into San Jose. The hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable; the A/C felt great. Catch this, phone calls are free to any place in the world. WoW. There is gated parking. The Tryp Sabana location is about a 20 minute drive to the airport-- a good place to spend the night in the city before catching a plane. Our large room (#917) had 2 queen beds and a futon couch that could also become a third bed. Nice view of the sunset over the mountains (with an office building partially blocking part of the view.) From the hotel, there is wide, walk-able street to the downtown with oodles of fast food places en route (20 min walk). The (included) breakfast buffet is bountiful. Part of San Jose is sketchy. If you decide to walk, get easy directions from the receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Allanallen,

Greetings from SJO! thank you very much for your review..we are happy to hear you liked our hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers..I will print a copy of your review and post it to the entire staff, they will be happy.

Sincerely,
Esteban Oreamuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tryp Sabana hotel by Wyndham , San Jose , Costa Rica is great hotel to stay with good breakfast of different variety , we stayed in June , nearby some shopping areas , eating places . With group we went around city for site seeing great, hotel worth for money & staying . Rooms very good ,services good .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sheela3,

Hola! thanks for your nice review..we are happy to hear you that you liked our hotel..also thanks for sharing your nice comments with the other world travellers..

Sincerely,
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our first night of our two week stay in Costa Rica. The hotel has modern decor and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The also offer a free breakfast but unfortunately we had to leave early and didn't get to try it. We had a drink at the hotel bar before closing and the staff was very friendly. We went for a walk a few blocks around the hotel but no luck in finding something to do late on a Sunday night. Didn't matter as we had to leave the hotel the next morning before 6am for our river rafting tour. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good nights sleep fairly close to the downtown area. Also the cost of the taxi ride from the International airport to the hotel was about $24.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hola! thanks for your review..we´re happy to hear you had a nice experience here with us..i will make sure the entire staff reads your review since is them that make this place going.
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Sabana Hotel By Wyndham Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.