We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, well priced, nice breakfast to boot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Save Saved
You added Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #17 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Tamarindo, CR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot, well priced, nice breakfast to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a great hotel, right on Sabana and Paseo Colon so it's about 5 minutes max (without rush-hour traffic) to Escazu (mall, restaurants) once you're on the highway and close to pretty much everything. Breakfast is great, buffet style but really good and included in your stay. It's got a cool little bar/lounge area that it well done decor-wise. I have stayed there on at least a half dozen occasions and it's a great call, clean and very consistent. Close to Furca (one of the three best restaurants in San Jose) Under $100 and way better than the Crowne Plaza, which is old and kinda beat up, just across the street at about the same price. I like.

Room Tip: The best are the corner rooms, they are double size. Not sure how to get them but I've gotten l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, Manager at Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hola! This is just a little thank you note for your nice review! Please contact me if you need anything from us for your next visit! Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    170
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
55
118
31
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed one night upon arrival and one night before departing Costa Rica. The hotel was clean and beautifully appointed with TV, coffee service, and a pull-out tray at the desk for dining, writing, or computer work in the room. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the best we encountered in 12 days of travel throughout the country. A small bottle of water was provided in the room, although water was drinkable from the faucet. The staff was polite and efficient, and everything worked beautifully, with the exception of the thermostat on my last night. There was a power outage on the day of departure, but the emergency generator kicked in, and the elevators continued to work. Water pressure was good, and the temperature remained fairly constant in the shower. We were within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, and parks, and the "sights" of the city (The Gold & Jade Museum, the Central Market, and the Theatre) were not far away. This was part of a tour, so I can't speak to the value, but since the tour was not terribly expensive, I would assume that the rate was not exorbitant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the hotel have a better view than those on the front and less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A comfortable hotel is a not very attractive part of the city. Handy for fast food joints, better restaurants & supermarkets on Paseo Colon. The city centre is about 20 minutes walk away, but five minutes walk in the other direction takes you to the more relaxing atmosphere of La Sabana Park – ideal for a post-breakfast walk.

We stayed at the Tryp for one night at the beginning of our two week trip to CR and one night at the end. Both rooms were on the 9th floor – great views across the city towards mountain – but still constant traffic hum. From the room on the south side of the hotel we also heard club music until 4.00AM. The hotel itself isn’t that noise proof, but thankfully our neighbours were considerate.

Both rooms were large & well-decorated, clean & with air-con., a good temperature to sleep. Ample hot water, toiletries and towels & tea/coffee making facilities. We ate one lunch in the restaurant - we decided to have a sandwich, but it was so well supported with add-ons that we didn’t need much that evening. Breakfasts are excellent, with a wide range of hot & cold foods available at the buffet.

Hotel staff are friendly & efficient … & the lobby porter is a real star.

An ideal hotel for one night or business trip.

Room Tip: 9th Floor, facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A grey, anonymous hotel, could have been anywhere in the world. Room was spacious and had everything I needed, however on my return journey I had a room without a window which I did not like. Close to Sabana Park and near enough to walk into the city centre if you are a reasonable walker. It just needs brightening up!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, Manager at Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear PandaUK,

Hola. Thanks for your review. I´m sorry to hear it didn´t met your expectations..The room you stayed it does has windows but they have sandblast since the view they have is of our neighbor roof, but unless I´m mistaked there´s natural light that comes in the room. Sincerely,
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel a little way out of the main downtown area of San Jose. We stayed two nights on arrival in Costa Rica and one night prior to leaving at the end of our holiday. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable although in one case very dark and in the other a large pillar seriously restricted free space in the room (obviously a structural feature!).

Breakfast was OK and the restaurant was adequate for an evening meal. A longer stay would get a bit tedious since there are no restaurants in close proximity so a taxi would be needed to eat out of the hotel (especially given the general warnings not to walk in San Jose at night!).

Not superb but not bad either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights -- 1 night at the start of our tour and 1 night at the end.

The rooms are very North American with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. It is nice that the toilet and shower are separate from the sink area. The first night we stayed in a room facing another building and it was very quiet. The second night we stayed in a room with a beautiful view of San Jose, but it was noisy.

-Breakfast was delicious (and free)!
-Free wifi throughout the hotel
-Walking distance to the market area
-Very close to the park
-Lots of mini-supermarkets and fast food chains near by

We ate in the restaurant and it was delicious! I had the sea bass and it was cooked perfectly on a bed of mashed potatoes and artichokes. Slightly pricey, but the food was excellent. Make sure to request bread and the garlic butter for the table, it was mouth-watering.

Highly recommend this hotel for a pretty central location and North American standards.

Room Tip: Choose between good views with street noise or quiet room with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were on a tour, and this was the staging hotel. It's everything Americans expect in a hotel. A/C, TV, coffee in the room, big towels, hot water, etc. The staff is very helpful and the restaurant has excellent food. Because we were with a tour, I don't know the cost of anything, but it was all top notch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Sabana Hotel By Wyndham Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.