We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aldea Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aldea Hostel to your Saves list
Aldea Hostel
Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I have never written a review before but I was so surprised by this hostel that I decided to write one. I did not like this hostel at all and yet it has such good reviews...? All of the staff were nice but most were 'relaxed' to the point of being apathetic and unhelpful. The bathroom was not clean plus they openly admitted to not always changing sheets between guests which I think is inexcusable. The place, though nicely decorated, has a very cold feeling. Not a hang out, homely feel that most good hostels manage to achieve. I would not recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
21
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Upon my arrival at San Jose airport, I took a red cab and ask him to take me and my fiancee to a hostel were we have a booking for that night, but the guy told us that the place was closed and a said a lot of bad stuff about the place in the end we asked him to take us to a nice place, he took us to Aldea..... this place is not nice at all, no hot water, only one computer for the guests, no smoking areas, the people on the front desk were rude and I think two of them were high and tried to rob something from us. The next day we left to Jaco and when we came back we find out that the place we booked at the first is open and way better than this place, and they give money to the taxi drivers to tell lies to the people....
For short: Aldea is a place where you are going to get robbed, REAAALLY bad rooms, an AWFUL service, STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!!!
PS: and I heard that the other reviews were written by the owner of the hostel...... thats lame....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The hostel is much cleanier than others I have seen. The employees are fairly nice and helpful. There is a full size pool table, and when I stayed guests and employees were playing card games and backgammen. The building is nicely contructed, unlike many other hostels. Dont trust taxi drivers, they will tell you hostels are full or will make fake calls and act like they cannot get you a room in any hostel. Aldea hostel has many rooms, thus I doubt it would fill up. If you are in San Jose, I definitely recommend this hostel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed in this hostel in total 3 times in a period of 3 weeks and we will highly recommend it to other backpackers.
The rooms are nice and very clean and the owner Amir is a really nice and friendly guy who will gladly help you with any problem or question.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I have stayed at several hostels and this one was very good. The room was clean as was the common area and kitchen. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The kitchen had lots of space and everything you need to prepare a meal. Unfortunately the power in the building went out as I was taking a shower but came back on about a half hour later. I don't expect things to be perfect at hostels so the cold shower in the dark didn't really bother me! For $20 for a double private room I thought it was a great value. There is a grocery store a short walk away and it is one block from a major street. It was a bit noisy at night but we were also there during a festival.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed overnight in San Jose in order to catch a flight early the next afternoon, and this hostel was just perfect. The building it's in has beautiful high ceilings and large windows, and is nicely artsy, decorated with bright paintings; on this basis among others, it was nicer than most of the (much pricier) places we stayed at on our trip. The hostel also provided decently warm water and comfortable beds, as well as a nice breakfast in the morning. The people working there were so friendly and helpful, and even got us a discount at a delicious Turkish restaurant downtown! It's still a work-in-progress (we were told it was completed only 5 months ago), but the work they've done so far has been great, and for the price, it'd be hard to find a better place to stay. Really recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I was very happy when my taxi suggested Aldea. Arriving in San Jose during a torrential rain storm, and with know idea where I was (the Tica Bus station location was new and not in my guide book), I was delighted to not have to try and find something on my own. Aldea is very close to the bus station and to the downtown area. Across the street is a fun little live Shakespearian theater (English speaking) with a very popular and cool bar underneath - right nest door to an art film cinema. All the city buses pass near by and you aren't far from the Coca-Cola station for buses everywhere else in the country. it took me a couple of days to get my bearings but I loved it and went back later in my trip. They remembered who I was too.
I will go back soon as I return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldea Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel

Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aldea Hostel San Jose, we offer all the creature comforts a providing you with a home away from home. We have a fun, young and enthusiastic team of receptionists, all of which are bilingual, attentive to your personal needs and vigilant about your security. They will always be more than happy to help offer advice about what to do and where to go to make your trip a memorable one. We are right in the sweet spot of San Jose where all the best happenings take place. Standing in front of the famous Sala Garbo movie theater, which shows a selection of intellectual foreign films. You will be no more than 100 meters from Paseo Colon, the street where most national celebrations take place such as Festival de la Luz and El Tope which start off the New Year's party! We are within walking distance from the main bus terminals that take you to all your desired destinations around Costa Rica We pride ourselves in having a "chill out" environment with a touch of sophistication. The Main Room allows you to socialize over a game of billiards or while sharing a film on movie night with the fellow guests on our big screen TV. Our ample backyard has ping-pong table and a grill dying to be lit, and our large eat-in kitchen is great for social meal times. At night you can enjoy a drink with your new friends at our bar-style counter-tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Aldea Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldea Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.