We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously freshly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantras Veggie Cafe and Tea House

Mantras Veggie Cafe and Tea House
200 metros Este, 25 metros Sur de la Rotonda del Farolito | Barrio Escalante, San Jose, Costa Rica
2253-6715
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 285 restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deliciously freshly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Veggie food with a touch of Costa Rica! Nice place, excellent menu, organic and gluten free options, well priced for the high quality and delicious dishes. Try the daily dish and you would not regret it, its always a different nice surprise!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    27
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food / outdoor tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have been a Mantras fan for several years. I love sitting in the outdoor tables, and eat while watching the flowers. Their daily menu has great option and the price is reasonable. The owners need to advertise that they use many organic ingredients. Gives me a great feeling to know that I am eating dishes that are healthy for the environment and my family.

I celebrated there my last birthday, and like to take my 4-year-old daughter to eat ice cream in the afternoons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Costa Rica not California...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great selection of vegetarian and vegan food in an otherwise meat hungry region. I ate here a few times even though I am not vegetarian. Good food, large portions, and a great environment. However, you find this place in San Jose, California...it's in San Jose, Costa Rica, so plan your flight accordingly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

we went to this restaurant to celebrate my birthday's son he is just 14 years old and loves the vegetarian food. I was surprised because I've nerver imagine that the vegetarian food was so delicious. I tryed a fajitas soy meet with rice and vegetables, my son and wife order lasagna and my sister tryed a hamburger simply good
The natural juices were delicious too
It was a nice experience trying new food for all my family. I recommended it with no fear to mistake top say it will be satisface to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“yummmmmmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

i went with my best friend to have luch and th specials are to die for, besides th prices are very reasonable and th customer service is great

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Mantras Veggie Cafe and Tea House also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Mantras Veggie Cafe and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantras Veggie Cafe and Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.