We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owners who make you feel at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Save Saved
You added In & Basic Hostel Lounge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 2045, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice owners who make you feel at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed two times at the In&Basic at the very begining of our trip to Costa Rica and at the end before leaving for the airport.
Ron & Karlis (the owners) had very good knowledge of all the activities that one can do in Costa Rica along with info on how to do them and how to get there. Quite impressive.
The hostel is clean and the common areas are freshly decorated and comfortable (giant TV, pool table, nice sofas, well equiped kitchen, exotic garden, wifi, ...).

During our second we arrived quite late at the hostel and Ron drove us to a 24h store so that we could grab some late groceries for diner.

I would definitely recommand this place for an entry or exit point in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
20
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and are gonna stay one more on the way back. We came late in the afternoon with a taxi that was waiting for us at the airport. When we arrived the owner made us a delicious pizza! Its a family owned hostel so the vibe is friendly and laid back. You can relax and watch tv or play video games. All the other guest were also really nice. The owner helped us out with a car rental and got us a really nice deal! The agent was friendly too. We decided to stay an extra night when we come back to SJ. This hostel is an ideal place if you want to relax after the hustle of downtown San Jose! Its right in the university area so there are lots of nice bars and restaurants! Just ask the owner and he will gladly help you out with all you need! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

In and Basic is a very good hostel not too far from the local university in Pan Pedro. Ron and Karlis take good care of their guests and are more than happy to offer travel advice. The rooms are basic, nothing special but the common area is very nice and is great to meet other backpackers.

Room Tip: The breakfast consists of good pancakes and fruit. This is a good spot to start or end your Costa Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed there for three nights. The rooms are very simple but comfortable. To get into the city or a bus station you simply let them know and they call a cab for you (approx.4-6dollars), works fine. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast is "just" pancakes and jam or peanut butter, some fruit...but it fills you up until lunch.
The staff is friendly and always happy to help you out with whatever you need. I would go there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place has everything going for it, but the greatest value is the guidance and travel tips the friendly family/staff have to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

After flying in and taking the bus to San Jose, we had a hard time finding this hostel. We asked many of the locals and still had a very difficult time. The staff was kind enough, but our plans changed and we weren't refunded our room for our second night even though we didn't stay (but they did follow their policy so it was fair). To us, it didn't seem like an exciting area although we did find a nice restaurant attached to another hostel. The room was private and clean but smelled overly perfumed. The whole experience was only okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I do not have knowledge of this guest or this review.
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here two times overnight and was quite happy with it. It was very clean, and in a safe neighborhood. Even the shared bathrooms were immaculate. The facilities are nice and comfortable, and the owners are hospitable, and breakfast is tasty. The owners will give you tons of advice and help you with pretty much anything you ask!

The only downside of this hostel is its location. While it's in a quiet, safe, great neighborhood and near a supermarket, it's at least a forty-minute walk from the center of San Jose and the bus station. Fortunately, it's only a $6.00 cab ride to the center of town if you need to get somewhere really early.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is great for a couple and is next to the shared bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 2045, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...with Israeli Owners!.. In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the Israeli owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! We have a new restaurant - PIZZA, CALZONE, SHNIZEL and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In & Basic Hostel Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.