We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really top-notch service. Very friendly hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Beto

Hotel Casa Beto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Beto
Calle 21 Av 7 y 9, San Jose 1000 SJ, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 San Jose B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really top-notch service. Very friendly hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for our first night in San Jose, as we planned to depart the following day for Arenal.
Our night at Hotel Casa Beto was great - despite a torrential downpour, we got a warm welcome. I don't know how the buildings in San Jose stand up to such weather, but the Hotel was as cozy and impeccably clean as could be, with a very cool art-deco foyer and patio. As we were traveling with a toddler and a pre-teen, I hoped we would have understanding hosts.
Hotel Casa Beto went far beyond expectations. They have everything you need: hot water, plenty of comfortable beds and spacious rooms with high ceilings. Wifi and a little computer lounge with several computers for guests to use. Most of all though (I will say it again) Vanessa and Max were like long-lost cousins who treat you like a super-welcome guest with whatever info or offers for assistance that you could use.
They let our toddler play with their son's toys, and let my husband (a huge soccer fan) watch Costa Rica play in the Copa America with the family for some extra excitement.
The neighborhood is walkable - a lot of students and we found people very helpful. And a great little bakery kitty-corner across the street!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The best place I could find in San José in terms of costs and hospitality. A very quite place where you can even use a handy kitchen, the washing machine and the dryer, three new PC with printer and scanner. The guys there - Max, Orlando and Vanessa - are always ready to give you any kind of information, and even organize small tours for (and with) you.
Costa Rica is not a very cheap country, but here you can find what you need at affordable prices.

Mauro P. (Italia)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Casa Beto is a really great value for the price, friendly staff, good location, close to the action yet not too noisy neighborhood. The taxi driver had a hard time finding the place, even after asking a few people, so bringing a map of the place may be a good idea. Would go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Me and a friend stayed at Casa Beto over Christmas. The inside of the building was really beautiful, both the historic paving tiles and the furniture in the rooms. We had a six-person room for the two of us. As we didn't know the town at all, the owners gave us recommendations on what to see, organised taxi pickups from the airport and from the hotel to other places and even reserved a restaurant place for us on Christmas Eve when lots of places were closed. On Christmas day, we were offered to try self-made tamales for breakfast. Especially for Christmas it was really nice to feel sort of "at home".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Beto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Beto

Address: Calle 21 Av 7 y 9, San Jose 1000 SJ, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Friends, A new B&B has opened doors in the beautiful and peaceful Barrio Aranjuez, in San Jose, Costa Rica. CASA BETO B&B HOTEL, Please be free to contact us for a inspection and rates. Ideal for students, exchange programs, and those looking for nice and comfortable accommodations at a fair price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Beto Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Beto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Beto to your Saves list