We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice under certain conditions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Boruca to your Saves list
La Boruca
Moravia San Jose, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 San Jose B&B and Inns
Abilene, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent choice under certain conditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our second stay at La Boruca (each three nights). We were with a group that occupied all four rooms. All group members were equally satisfied with the accommodations (which are spacious, comfortable and clean), the ample daily breakfast (included), and the delicious meal prepared by Kenneth and his wife during one of our nights. We also enjoyed the convivial atmosphere of the place, and Kenneth directed me to an excellent, well-maintained forest trail that offered the promise (under the right conditions) of superb birding.

La Boruca is nestled in a residential area not close to restaurants or markets. Kenneth was helpful in engaging transportation for members of our group to venture away from the area (including one full day touring the Heredia area), but they found that transport to be quite costly (and the tour to be tiresome and ill-planned). Keep in mind that these were private transportation providers not associated with La Boruca.

I retain my conviction that La Boruca deserves a rating of "excellent", but I also think that travelers will be most satisfied under certain conditions: first night in or last night out, or with rental cars, or satisfied to pass the time in the lovely garden at La Boruca and in the immediately surrounding area. Under those conditions, the location is very good (or even excellent), but for some other travelers the location may prove less than optimal.

Excluding breakfast, the superb meals are not inexpensive and La Boruca does not accept credit cards. I suspect that for perhaps $5 USD each way a taxi could offer transportation to a reasonably close restaurant (and the well-maintained La Boruca website mentions a few).

As many have observed, Kenneth is a wonderfully informative and entertaining expert on Costa Rican tourism.

Room Tip: The Safari Room offers an elevated view (from windows and from the balcony) of the garden area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
60
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our private room had a big bed, tv, WiFi, PC for Internet usage, a host of newer movies for viewing, fridge, safe, fresh towels & linens, free breakfast & excellent coffee each morning.
Ken continually went above & beyond assisting us. He knows the area VERY well so he can make good recommendations for your travel needs. He even let us borrow a cell phone during our visit & gave valuable advice. The breakfast was very good, a different meal each time and you have the option of purchasing a dinner each night ($16) in which we did on 4 or 5 occasions. The dinners are excellent as well with generous portions & high quality ingredients.
Close proximity to volcanoes and the Braulio Carrillo National Park which is a nice drive on a good (but busy) road. We stopped @ the Ranger Station and took a hike through the rain forest. It was a good example of a true rain forest.
This is a very nice place.

Room Tip: Bring pants & sweatshirt. Although you're in C.R., it can be a little chilly at this elevati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Absolutely fantastic.
This is the best B&B we have been to in Costa Rica I’m sure. Ken is absolutely wonderful to chat will and my entire family had a great time there. The rooms are large and well equipped, the food is fantastic. We chose to have dinner there, the dining area is a beautiful outdoor patio, we later found out that Kens wife was a trained chef by profession so I don’t have to say that the food was a culinary delight.
The breakfast was made to order and plentiful. Our entire experience was fantastic. We stayed there the night before our departure and I wished that we had more time there. It was a joy to stay with Ken and his family at his wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetawan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Little off the road but we'll worth the drive.Rooms are great,Ken the owner one great guy,very helpful. super was as well as breakfast right on. super was $16 per person very good.Nice pool and garden area.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice place, spacious bedroom and above all a very gentle and helpfull host. First arrival, late in the evening couldn't be better. We asked a pickup at the airport, no problem. Kenneth gives you a warm welcome to CR.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a room at La Boruca to start and end our trip in Costa Rica based on reviews on TripAdvisor and we're glad we did! We stayed for three nights, traveled elsewhere in the country and returned for two nights. It felt like coming home.

Kenneth knows the country very well and has worked in tourism for many years, so he gave us great tips. Ken knows! :) The location is a bit off the beaten path, and we didn't have a car, but Ken was able to arrange transport for us for everything we needed and also helped arrange some tours, so it was just fine.

Susana, Kenneth's wife, is an excellent cook. Breakfast was delicious (and included in the rate) and we stayed for dinner every night (additional cost). The potato wedges are incredible. It might seem like an odd thing to point out in a hotel review, but they were *that* good.

Since we traveled during low season, they weren't fully booked and we only saw other guests for a few moments during our stay. It was a wonderful getaway from it all! Well, not away from technology, though. They have wifi in the rooms and an extensive collection of movies you can watch in your room, which was a nice way for us to relax.

The only issue we had were ants in the room - both rooms we had. We sealed up our food in ziplock bags and put it in the freezer, but we still had quite a few additional guests in our room. Everything else was perfect and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you need assistance walking up stairs, I'd suggest asking for a room on the lower level. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are sorry that we are so late writing this review.
My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here on two occasions, February 17, 25 and 26 and 27.
The owners and their family went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They hooked us up with the best car rental, drove us to town, picked us up at the air port, suggested places to visit and served us lovely meals.
We have nothing but praise and would highly recommend La Boruca.

Room Tip: The date we were there is not one of our options, we were there February, 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Boruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose
La Boruca Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boruca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.