We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsmens Lodge

Sportsmens Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sportsmens Lodge
Save
You added Sportsmens Lodge to your Saves list
Casa 949 en Barrio Otoyo, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hotel with Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We only stayed one night, didn't eat here or do the bar scene but the layout was nice, like an old world mansion. The bathroom was complete with a modern toilet, stand-up shower, Jacuzzi for two but lacked an exhaust fan. With casinos and cafes just blocks away I'd stay again even though the rooms were a little noisy; the foot traffic in the wings was light even at full occupancy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
1
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benbrook, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here a week and had a great time, from Bill, Danny and ALL the staff like Marta and the security it was great, cannot go wrong here, and for those who have bad things to say, GREAT and please stay away so its not sold out next time I visit....LOL.....Thanks Bill, I loved all the football games you have on at one time, Great Sports bar to see all the games

Room Tip: This is one of the few places with a gym, great to stay in shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sportsmans Logde is a great place to watch a game, have a few drinks or eat dinner.
The burgers, are the absolutely best in Costa Rica ( imported Peruvian 1/2 lb patties),

There are hookers there, but they are passive and won't bother you, ( unlike the Del Rey )

The owners are Gringos , the place is clean and security is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrollton, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed a coupla days last week, 6/5 &6/8, had enjoyable visit. Rooms were good, clean with a very nice staff. Most everything is there that you could want, food, drink and sports on TV. Everything else like museums and gambling is a short walk or taxi ride away.

The only negative was that the cook wanted to put Thousand Island dressing on all the sandwiches which made them inedible.

Room Tip: Get staff to get rid of miny bar when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the sportsmen's lodge form 04/28/2013 to 04/31/2013 and I found it to be a pretty good hotel. The staff there are very friendly an helpful and the food is pretty good. I went during a religious week so it wasn't very actice until that Sat. but I will visit CR again in Oct. to get the full effects. The rooms are clean and cleaned daily, but in my opinion a little overpriced for the size of them. The girls there are GREAT!!!! When all is said and done I had a good time at the SL and I will return. Oh and I never heard the train that other people complained about and the security there was also GREAT!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA CRUZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Treat yourself to a room in the Mansion Wing, and the adventure begins. There are rides for every taste, from big and scary, to small and sleek. All available for your immediate enjoyment. I guarantee you will leave your stay, with a smile that lasts for weeks. Remember the first time you explored the Matterhorn, that feeling of being alive and walking on air, it is never to late to relive those moments.

Main man Bill is there to make sure your stay is memorable. His gaggle of lady bartender are sweet and efficient. The food is good and the Tortilla soup is really good.

Bill thanks for the reserved table, it made Saturday night even more special.

Room Tip: The Mansion Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place is basically a hooker hangout. Costa Rica has legal prostitution and this is one of the several places to go where hookers are invited to hang out and approach the clientele to offer their services.

That aside - though I can't imagine anyone wanting to stay there unless that was your reason - the place has a number of problems:

1) many of the rooms are very noisy. I have heard some are not but I know that many of them are based on where they are located - near the very noisy bar.
2) the food is overpriced and totally unremarkable . The nachos are passable for example but not great. The omelet was horrible - super greasy, almost inedible. Most of the food I have had there is edible but far from "good". Overpriced wouldn't be so bad if it was really good but it's not that good at all.
3) the bar is way too noisy; they crank the music up as if it were a 90's disco or something yet no one is dancing and most people are just trying to talk to each other but they have to yell over the loud music. This might be acceptable if it were later in the evening or if there were dancing but this is all day long.
4) the waitresses are not very good. Some are but some are not.
5) it's off the beaten path so if you want to go anywhere, even in the day time you have to take a taxi. I'd rather be closer to the main area of San Jose where I can walk to where I'm going in the day time
6) for those who are going for the prostitution I recommend one of the hotels in Gringo Gulch - where the hotel Del Rey is. I won't recommend one here but I'll just say that the Del Rey has about 30 more times the women and they're generally better looking too.

The bottom line:
Sportsmen's Lodge is an okay place to stay if you can't get a room in another cheaper better hotel closer to Gringo Gulch (main area near the Holiday Inn). As for going there to eat or check out the girls, again, I'd stay near the Del Rey and go there instead for the girl watching.

Room Tip: There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sportsmens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmens Lodge

Address: Casa 949 en Barrio Otoyo, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sportsmens Hotel San Jose
Sportsmens Lodge Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsmens Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.