We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How does Trip Advisor allow a picture of a pool for a place without a pool?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsmens Lodge

Sportsmens Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sportsmens Lodge to your Saves list
Sportsmens Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Casa 949 en Barrio Otoyo | Calderon Guardia, Calle 13 Ave 9 y 11, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How does Trip Advisor allow a picture of a pool for a place without a pool?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Cool place for a few drinks, great TV's to watch sports and cheap drinks. We didn't stay here overnight but the we didn't have to be here long to see the 'ladies of the night,' the migration started about 4 pm.
Come for the cocktails, stay for the people watching, leave and be glad you didn't have to hide and lock everything up in your room because you invited the local red light district crowd.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is about my fourth stay in four years. Recommend booking early as at some times of year...March is one.. they book up and a room you like may not be available. Check out their web site before you get started. There is no swimming pool on the property. This is not a hotel for families or married couples. It is pretty much a guys place. The staff is great at helping you with tour bookings and suggestions from everything from rainforest gondola rides to sport fishing. The bar area has many local gals looking for company and the hotel itself is very guest friendly. You can also change US dollars to colones at fair rates ie 490 per dollar at the hotel and about 500 at banks here in March 2012. The hotel can arrange airport pickup and return for you easily. Room rates are very good for what you get. The value is excellent but expect an average look to the room. They include mostly king beds, safes, and some have small fridges. The do have occasional problems with maintenance in rooms but normally take care of things right away when you let them know. Maid service is excellent. The restaurant and bar have descent menus and service is good. There is also room service provided until the kitchen closes at 10:30p. The breakfast included with your room is a small collection of coffee, orange juice, toast, yogurt, fruit, and a few small muffins. Not too exciting but often is all I need. You can order a full breakfast separately and the food is good. Rooms on the bar floor are great deals and nice rooms but beware they can be noisy. Most rooms have a/c but be sure to check as that is not always the case. This trip I met up with another travel buddy and we decided to share the two bedroom Penthouse as a combination party place and lodging. The Penthouse has two big jacuzzis. Anyway neither room was very large but the second bedroom was way too small and had no a/c....actually neither room had a/c...it was vented off the main large living room a/c which was a constant challenge of too cold and too hot. I would not recommend two guys rented the Penthouse as it is. Use the second bedroom as a crash place after a party and use the master bedroom for one person. Then get another room. Or if there are three or four of you each kick in money for the Penthouse to party and have one stay in it and then get the rooms you want. I am nearing the end of my two week stay here and it has been great. Next trip I will get one of my favorite rooms....Torro Negro upstairs (only downside) in mansion suites...it has a jacuzzi (separate) in the room and a nice king bed and shower. Leon is also a nice room and I seem to recall a jacuzzi but not sure. Nice room. Would book either next trip. The Presidential suite at 109 per night is a great deal and a very large room. Only problem is noise. If that does not bother you it is a great deal and lots of room. Sofa makes into an extra bed when needed. Take a look. Look forward to my next trip. Front desk staff is always helpful and also helpful booking your stay (call or email them), helping with trips, and helpful with changing money and getting your room cleaned while you are out.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms in the mansion wing for better quality rooms and quiet. Some have separate jacuzzi in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank togbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This place is situated in the old part of the city where the original coffee and plantation families lived, Barrio Amon. Wow! what a super nice place! Room rates are anywhere from 50.00 USD to 250.00. The attention to customers is over the top. I stayed here last year, and will be going there next month. Very nice rooms and open air bar. Great food also. From here you can walk to all other popular places in the area. Yes, there are many beautiful women that visit, more the better! The owner is American, and a fantastic host...enjoy!

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are more than adequate, but when on vactation, why not splurge?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great place, Stay in the Mansion section for less noise and better rooms. Large room, great staff.. There are a few girls lerking in the bar area looking for a 1 hr room stay!! Very good looking ones too.. They are very friendly and loving until they collect their "fee" Then its lets hurry and get this show over!!! IF YOUR GONNA TAKE A GIRL to your room,
Lock up all your valuables, AND hide the snacks and drinks that are billed to you if used. They will empty the stash which is about a $60 charge to your room.. They will lift everything that isnt screwed down.. Beware! You have been warned.. They will drive up your stay and the hotel will not tell you this because it would cut into their revenue.. Other than that, its a great place..

Room Tip: Stay in Mansion section
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lovedsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This hotel is like a frat house full of fun! It has just about everything we needed, a bar, games, girls and rooms. Its a party hotel so sleep was never going to happen, way too much noise in the halls at night! Wish the place had a Casino instead of just TV screens, perhaps even a sports book. The staff was really helpful, especially Manfred who set us up on some great tours. We went zip-lining and visited a volcano as well as took an ATV tour that was a blast. We are all very serious fisherman, we each own our own boats back home in SD Calif. We wanted the best guide in the country! Manfred put us in touch with Captain Jose of Angry Marlin Sportfishing, we learned a lot about bait and switch fishing for marlin and sails from this master fisherman! Capt. Jose can look at the water see a ripple and tell you exactly whats below from a 100 yards away! We caught 6 sails one a small marlin and 4 large dorado! After the trip Capt. Jose took us to a great restaurant where we had a great shrimp soup that itself is worth going to Costa Rica for along with our dorado and beer as we watched the sunset on the Pacific. Life does not get any better than spending a long day fishing with your friends and our new friend Capt. Jose at a great restaurant then go home to girls, girls, and more girls. I highly recommend the Sportsmens Lodge, and Angry Marlin Sportfishing if your hanging with your buddies in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockrollfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Redington Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is one of the coolest sportsbars I have been to. The sportsmens lodge is a very unique hotel, bar and restaurant. They have a wide variety of rooms. The nicest are in the Mansion Wing. It's a remodeled Presidential Mansion. It's a small hotel apprx, 30 rooms. Very happening bar. Busiest around happy hour. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner is served daily. Kitchen closes at 11pm. What a great place to watch sports! This is a party spot and definitely not for families.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rtseatrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Landed in San Jose for some international football and lounged and the Lodge. It is plopped down in a neighborhood in the city and is nice enough and run well. The room set me back about a $100 a night. There are probably more economical places, but this one had some character and alot of characters. The rooms branch out from a central restaurant/bar area complete with pretty decent dining options and plenty of libations and TV screens.

The room was spacious and equipped with the basics. The bathroom was large, but not luxurious.

The one downside was that there was quite a bit of hall traffic during the night and it often was loud. It is a partying place, after all.

They had some PCs for free internet access and the management was helpful for whatever your needs were. The clients were mostly internationals from all walks and talks.

If you are looking for a decent place that is sure to provide some nightlife (although bar closes at midnight), you could do worse than this place. Hopping all day and evening.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Goodpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#8 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#18 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmens Lodge

Address: Casa 949 en Barrio Otoyo | Calderon Guardia, Calle 13 Ave 9 y 11, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmens Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sportsmens Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmens Hotel San Jose
Sportsmens Lodge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing