We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesy fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirador Ram Luna

Mirador Ram Luna
Del centro de Aserri 5 km carretera a Tarbaca | 5 km de la Iglesia de Aserrí, San Jose, Costa Rica
506 22303022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 301 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cheesy fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is far, expensive, and has outstanding views!
We were on a mission trip so it was great for us. We were a large group and needed to combine some Costa Rica memories.
There was a little shopping out front. The food was mass produced, but a large variety. The entertainment was similar to clog dancers. They were well rehearsed.
The best part is the view, that is what you're paying for and it's worth it. My dinner was $40 and that included everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tico food, music and traditional dance show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to Mirador Ram Luna on the last night of our Costa Rican Holiday and it was an excellent way to end the trip! Amazing view from restaurant of the entire central valley and San Jose. The buffet is excellent! The traditional show and music the perfect way to end a CR trip. Highly recommend Mirador Ram Luna, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An Evening at Ram Luna Folklore Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

While staying in San Jose you may wish splurge on a Wednesday or a Thursday by buying a pre-arranged tour to a folklore show. We booked such a nightly event with Marbella Tours.

We were picked up by van from our San Jose hotel at 18:30hrs and travelled to the town of Aserri. The Ram Luna Restaurant is located on a high elevation nearby and rewards diners with a spectacular view of San Jose below.

Seated at a long table, at an outdoor setting, we took a few trips to a large buffet table. Food choices included tropical fruits, several forms of rice (with beans or chicken), pasta with fish and fried plantains. Desserts included: rice with milk and red coconut nougats. Wine, beer and other cold drinks were available. While rich in quantity and well presented, these food items were just OK in taste.

Travelers from many countries come to Ram Luna. During that evening diners included people from Argentina, Costa Rica, Mexico, Nicaragua and the U.S.

The folklore show started at 20:30hrs and lasted one hour. A lively group of ten dancers costumed in colorful Costa Rican garb captivated our attention, stomping the ground and making high chirping, cat-calls vocal sounds, accompanied by a marimba.

This spectacle ended with a miniature fireworks show at 22:00hrs.

Our van was waiting for us for the ride back to San Jose.

This was an evening not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice view, good entertainment, but expensive and the food is so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The star attraction at Ram Luna is the nighttime view of the lights of the capital.
This restaurante caters to tour groups and groups for large events.
They generally offer a buffet with some entertainment including "bailes tipicos". The dancers put on a pretty good show, but there is always that moment when they pull people from the audience to dance around and look silly.
The food, however, is pretty disappointing. It is billed as a "Costa Rican Buffet," but has nothing in common with the good, (if simple) homecooking you can find at "sodas" and other, smaller restaurantes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good for first timers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went there on many occassions, although it is a restaurant with very good location, if it is foggy you will not see anything from the view of San Jose they sell. If you go on the days that there is no show, it trully isnt a nice restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirador Ram Luna also viewed

 

Been to Mirador Ram Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirador Ram Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.