We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple cheap option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm House Inn

Save Saved
You added The Palm House Inn to your Saves list
The Palm House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palm House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle 13 Ave 2 y 6, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 San Jose B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A simple cheap option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We only stayed 1 day and 2 nights. Rooms clean and sufficient.The position is pretty central and near the National museum. The breakfast is very simple but enough. As mentioned in previous posts the shower drains tend to overflow very quickly.
The reception guys really went out of there way to help us locate our lost baggage at the airport and helped with calls etc.

Room Tip: Our first night we had rooms on the entrance floor next to the reception desk. We had to move for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

As others have said, this hotel is centrally located and reasonably clean. The room is basic but clean.Terrible drainage in bathroom - water goes everywhere after a shower and you're in a swamp. Whatever you do, don't leave anything on the floor! Breakfast is a bit of a joke. And, while centrally located, the street itself is all barred windows and barbed wire; a bit sketchy. Nearest parking is very expensive, but if you drive a block or 2 you'll find affordable and safe parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

On my way to Nicaragua I often stay at this hotel. Not because it's so great, but the location is perfect. Short walk to everywhere in San Jose. The rooms are reasonably clean and small but sufficient for a short stay. No luxury, but also the price is ok with about $ 50/night. What can you expect? The staff is friendly, the breakfast is not worth eating it but as I said before, you can walk to excellent cafes on calle central, watch people and have breakfast.
Basically the price is right, the staff is friendly and it's convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is located near the National Museum which makes it an excellent option to visit the main attractions in the city. Although the facade is not very chip, inside the rooms are very clean and the bathroom is new. Staff are very kind and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price. I would recommend it. Good quality-price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

1 star for the polite service who was even able to call our tour company for us when they were running late to pick us up.

1 star for relatively modern rooms complete with an updated bathroom and crown molding. However there were two beds crammed into a tiny room leaving minimal room to maneuver around our suitcases. Also like another reviewer mentioned, we had "stains" on our sheets. And worse part of it all, there was NO HOT WATER even after letting the water run for several minutes. After a long flight, taking a cold shower was not very pleasant.

And finally 1 point for location - well kinda. We had a quiet night's sleep and were in walking distance to a supermarket and restaurants. However we were extremely nervous walking around at night as the area is a bit grungy with no tourists in sight but plenty of locals staring at us.

Overall, I think the hotel was totally sufficient for a night's stay after flying into San Jose. You can start the real trip bright and early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The rooms at the Palm House Inn, were not too big but modern, very clean and had everything which was needed. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we could use the internet for free. As we did not have time to eat breakfast, our bus left very early, we can not give a comment about this point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel was in the best spot in town for walking around and exploring. It was right next to the National Museum and across the street was a souvenir market with great shopping. The beds were a bit of a joke. They were on wheels or something and kept moving around. But everything was clean and of good quality. The staff was excellent, especially Juan Carlos who gave us great ideas for places to visit. I would stay there again, just for the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm House Inn

Address: Calle 13 Ave 2 y 6, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm House Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Palm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm House Hotel San Jose
The Palm House Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.