We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with five other friends during end of May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Toruma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Toruma to your Saves list
Hostel Toruma
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Central Avenue, between 29 & 33 Sts, Los Yoses, San Jose 68241000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed with five other friends during end of May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great place and friendly staff! It was clean, had a nice pool, pool table, and felt very safe inside the compound. I'd definitely stay here again my next time in San Jose. Lots of buses pass outside the front doors and you are in walking distance of a lot of cool places in the city. However, I personally didn't feel safe going outside the compound at night alone. But I think that the entire city is like that and not necessarily the place where the hostel is.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    12
    3
See reviews for
2
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hostel is ridiculously creepy - when rooms are empty they look like something from paranormal activity, so old fashioned. It's super eerie throughout the whole hostel.

We were only staying in Costa Rica one night and had to suffer the horrendous experience of San Jose, so we tried to find a remotely okay hostel to relieve the experience a little. this is not the place. We changed USD currency to local Costa Rica currency especially to pay for this hostel, they ended up refusing to accept their own local currency - accepting only USD instead. When we told them this was ridiculous, the staff got super rude and unhelpful.

Horrendous horrendous horrendous train goes past the windows every 5-10 mins and toots an unbelievably loud horn every time into the early hours of the morning. Horrific.

Arrived at 7pm, left as early as we could at 4am. Enough said.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked a room with a double bed and without private bat at this hostel. We paid the full price at arrival. After that, we found out that the onlz room fitting to our booking had a broken light. The girl at the front desk and the owner o the hostel on the phone refused to either give us our money back or give us a different room with a double bed even though the hostel was almost empty. Istead, we had to wait for the maintenance guy to come and fix the light. Even after that, the light (a fluorescent tube) kept flickering horribly. Finally we were given another room. But even that one was not worth the money and in no way as described in the Lonely Planet.

Do not trust older reviews. Nowadays the hostel is a rundown place at the comfort level of a youth hostel but with no facilities except for spyware infected computers. Also, there is a new train going by the ostel which is extremely loud and adds to the already high noise level. There is laundry service, but it is $9.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The downtown pangea hostel with its by nice ambience was booked out my first night so I got a free transfer out to Toruma. The avienda next door has lots of heavy traffic of buses and trucks rumbling by so its a bit noisy in the rooms on the east side. Room was also a bit dusty and scuffed looking and in need of a good dust down and the lamp needed a plug. Staff friendly enough but it lacks the location and ambience of pangea and you may end up feeling lonely and isolated out on the town outskirts at Toruma were the facilities are not as good

Room Tip: West rooms further from noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A President's former residence, I'm sure this place was cool once, but no longer. The staff were rude/apathetic, the key rarely worked in locks, we were charged $5 extra to check in 3-4 hrs early when they had plenty of room, the pool was ice cold, there is NOTHING around the hostel outside, and they don't have a functioning bar or restaurant of any kind as advertised (they try and send you to another hostel Pangea 3 kms down the road). The place feels dead. Don't book here. Go with a brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went with a colleague/friend of mine temporarily since hotels were all booekd up. Got this as a recommendation from their sister hotel Pangea. 3 Main Points:

1. Expectations
2. Staff
3. Value for Money

**
Expectations:
Not at all like the pictures. There was no restaurant in the hotel as advertised. Rooms were clean but not the rooms we were promised on check-in. We asked specifically for 2 rooms with single beds or at least a room with 2 separate beds but were duped into a dorm room that had 1 queen bed and bunk beds. Bathroom was clean but literally leaked into the room.

Staff:
Neither the lady (working noon-ish on Saturday) nor the young man (working Sunday) were service minded at all. Lady charged extra dollar for an extra key, but did not put it in the receipt as a deposit. Did not even note it for the man. Not usually a big deal, but he got defensive when I mentioned this and gave a "not my problem" vibe even if he could have easily checked with her or offered to check and have me come back for the tiny deposit(I wouldn't have, it's the gesture that mattered). Very curt. Not very warm.

Value for Money:
Website says a certain amount with no hidden fees, got charged 10 dollars more total. Did not get room key deposit back (they have an inconsistent system). Noise was unbelievable for the amount we paid. They advertise orthopedic mattresses for all beds, but did not deliver either.

All in all, would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room much farther from the lobby, but you won't get your wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a FABOULOUS!! Stay! at Hostel Toruma! in San Jose, Costa Rica! Right next to Downtown San Jose, and all the famous landmarks, Hot Spots! and Near San Pedro Shopping Mall ! I consider Hostel Toruma my "Retreat Home" When I Land there from United States. I feel "At Home" and feel like a Royality! Being treated Royality! the costs is not too bad! it's reasonable and cheap! But the Pool is lovely! Swimming Pool is Absoultey Stunning!! but COLD!!! Brrr Wish They have Heated! Swimming pool ! But other than that! Just make myself "At Home!" With Hostel Toruma! I DEFIENTLY!!! Will Be coming back! :D (Y)

Room Tip: They EVEN! have Dormitory and Bunk beds for group travelers! or go Solo or in Couple and share the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Toruma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Toruma

Address: Central Avenue, between 29 & 33 Sts, Los Yoses, San Jose 68241000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Toruma 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Toruma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Toruma Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Toruma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.