We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica driver Danny Jimenez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Driver - Private Tours

Costa Rica Driver - Private Tours
San Jose, Costa Rica
011-506-8854-59-69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Activities in San Jose
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Costa Rica driver Danny Jimenez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

After much searching we settled on Danny as our driver in Costa Rica. He answered all my queries very promptly . He was waiting for us at San Jose airport and drove us to Arenal stopping for lunch on the way at a great soda that he recommended. He spoke very
good english and was a great driver. Would use his company again for our next trip to beautiful Costa Rica.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    12
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“This guy helped make our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Thank God we opted not to rent a car for our 12-day visit to Costa Rica. This is an amazing country, well worth repeat visits, but once you get away from the main cities and enjoy the country for all its natural beauties you realise that driving is not for the faint-hearted. First of all it is virtually bereft of road signs. That might be OK with plenty of time on your hands but when you add in the very poor road surfaces in some parts, the aggressive nature of some of the driving (totally at variance with the manner of the smiley, welcoming people you meet), the very steep inclines, the hairpin descents, and the often precipitous nature of the terrain right at the side of the road, it produces a nightmare. Then, imagine you are in a cloud forest area and suddenly the clouds descend reducing your visibility to virtual zero – maybe at night – and you are in a horror movie. You would not want to visit the country without going to a cloud forest so your choices are pretty obvious.

Our choice was www.costaricadriver.net. Its principal Christian Martinez was the guy who made our trip what it was – fascinating, stressless, and effortless. We stayed at four different places and he did all the driving - around 12 hours over five legs. As I said to him as he dropped us off at the airport, our vacation would not have been anywhere near as good as it was without him. He speaks fluent English and knows his country inside out – geography, politics, education, medicine, sport, natural history – so a drive with him is to have a top-class guide as well. If you have an inquiring mind, you will not be bored and you will end up well informed.

The big thing though was his driving. He was unflappable when facing a couple of daunting situations – like a big truck barreling down a narrow mountain road towards us with a steep drop to the side; or going up a hill to find vehicles on both sides of the road coming round the corner at the top. There was no drama either time, and no accident either.

I unreservedly recommend him.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Leo Rodriguez is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

In the summer of 2012, Leo Rodriguez took me and my wife and our six kids on a fantastic 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We bunge jumped, surfed, rafted, rappelled, and horseback rode our way across the country. Leo was there every step of the way. He guided us to the best restaurants and the best hotels. He saved me a LOT of money that I would have spent at the wrong places. When we left Leo at the end of that trip my daughters were crying because they loved Leo so much. Two weeks ago my wife and I flew back to Costa Rica to meet some friends at Pura Vida Resort for a Yoga Retreat. I secretly arranged to have Leo pick us up at the airport to surprise my wife. Leo was there right on time to pick us up and when my wife saw him she also started crying because she was so happy to see him again. We spent the afternoon with Leo and had lunch together and caught up on what has been happening in our lives. Leo is a good man, and a great tour guide. If you get the opportunity to spend time with him in Costa Rica, don't miss it. We tell all of our friends about him and HIGHLY recommend him.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bueno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arranged our travel with Danny after reading some tripadvisor reviews and we did not regret it. He was punctual, helpful and friendly. He drove us twice through that trip and arranged an employee for another and all of the trips were smooth. They made sure we took in the sights and cuisines of Costa Rica through our drives. His vehicles were comfortable and well maintained adding to the value for money.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Danny | Rafael = Great Costa Rican time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just came back from our trip to Costa Rica last week. We went from SJO -> Arenal/La Fortuna -> Manuel Antonio -> SJO and we used Danny as our transportation between these places. At first I did a lot of research at other transportation drivers, etc but i'm actually glad we sticked with Danny and his team. He was quick to respond through emails when i was researching, provided competitive pricing (maybe a little higher) BUT... even if he was a little bit more, we were entirely grateful for having him.

PROS:
- DANNY: Great personality, speaks English well, very knowledgeable about Costa Rica (all parts), took us to grab breakfast in the AM after we landed, told us about the history of Costa Rica, and felt like a family friend!
- RAFAEL: Really nice, tried to speak as much English as he could (but wasn't as fluent as Danny), took us to a local lunch spot, had us try fruits we've never had, took us to see crocs and was an all over delightful driver!

If ever a friend is going to costa rica and isn't driving themselves, i will definitely be recommending him to my friends and family and know they are in great hands!

Kristy & Carlos

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Driver - Private Tours also viewed

 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Costa Rica Driver - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Driver - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.