We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, a bit pricey, but with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aya Sofia Cafe and Bistro

Aya Sofia Cafe and Bistro
St. 33 Ave 3, Barrio Escalante, de Bagleman 170 mts al norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 314 Restaurants in San Jose
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cozy, a bit pricey, but with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

A delicious cup of soup was delivered to my table to keep me happy while my order was prepared. I proceeded to a mixed grill containing eggplant and peppers--very good. It came with very white, uninteresting bread, baked from over-processed flour. My main course was a juicy lamb stew, served on a large white plate with brown rice and beans--highly recommended. A small side salad was a good complement. The mousse de maracuya was a perfect finish.

Don't be confused by the two prices shown for every dish; it is simply with or without tax.

The ambiance is cozy, with colorful lamps that reminded me of a trip to Turkey some years back. Music videos are played with subdued sound for your entertainment. Unfortunately, the stained glass windows are plain panels, and project a cheap look in an otherwise nice environment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sanjose
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Patetic food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was with my friends to try the food in this place.the food cold..old..pita also old..nothing to do with the real turkish food..and the prices!!!!!waw!!!i almost cry for my money..i paid as if i was eating in a 3 star micheln restaurant!!!i wonder myself if are people who come back in this place..me..NEVER come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is in what seems to be a nice area and Calle 33 has lots of other interesting restaurants, cafes and bars. We walked over from our hotel (Aranjuez) one evening. The food we had was excellent, decor and ambience is super, service is superb. We had an appetizer that was a selection of spreads with bread - very good, and I had a lamb dish that was wonderful. One of the owners was there and made us some authentic Turkish coffee to finish off our dinner - wonderful! We'll definitely go back next time we're in San Jose.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Aya Sofia is a great option for Turkish/ Lebanese food in San José.
It is a small space in San Pedro, with a bit of a walk included you could get there by bus (take any of the buses along the main street of San Pedro, get off near the Bagleman´s and walk straight up about 4 blocks), otherwise any taxi should be able to get you there.
The owners are specialists in Ottoman cuisine and some weekend nights they host special dinners with a set menu showcasing certain classical dishes. We tried a lamb dish that was so mind-blowingly good I willed myself to make leftovers last for 3 days.
It is a bit pricey, but very high quality.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My Turkish colleague and I invited some local San Jose folks here for a taste of Turkish food and culture. We were very pleased (and full!) by the hospitality of owners Mehmet Bey and Hasan Bey, the wonderful food with authentic Turkish flavor, and an extra treat of Mehmet bringing out his saz to play and sing a few songs at the table. Our San Jose friends loved it, and made them even more desirous to visit Turkey!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aya Sofia Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Aya Sofia Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aya Sofia Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.