We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chinese restaurant in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flor de Loto

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Flor de Loto
Sabana Norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 301 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Jose
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best chinese restaurant in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Flor de Loto is one of my favorite places to eat in San Jose. From the great service to the superb food, it is on my list of highly recommended restaurants.

The options in the menu are numerous, you will always be wondering what to order as the variety is great. I recommend the "Cena de Ciruelas" dish, which has 4 different options to taste several dishes in one. The one we order has sweet and sour pork, chicken in soy sauce with mushrooms, shrimp with chinese mushroom, beef in tangerine sauce, vegetables and fried rice. The spring rools have to be the best in town, along with it's sweet and sour sauce. THe only thing is that during lunch hours it is full usually, you have to even wait for a seat, so I recommend got visit it during the week at night, as it is usually more empty. On the other side, this is for me the best deal for quality and price in chinese food in San Jose.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not the Chinese Food We Expected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ordered tofu soup, mango chicken, fried rice and 2 bottled waters. Our bill was $32! The mango chicken was fried chicken strips served separate with a pureed mango sauce. The rice didn't come with it and we had to order it separate. No vegetables were served with the chicken or the rice. We expected something a bit more with some veggies and at least some mango slices with the chicken. The tofu soup was okay, not very flavorful. This is nowhere near Chinese cuisine! The atmosphere is somewhat quiet, not much for ambiance. There was enough rice and chicken to take it to go. But the next morning was the real tell all when I woke with swollen fingers and a horrible headache! MSG!!!!! We will not go here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
“Nice Chinese food, Tico style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

not cheap but good food, convivial atmosphere and extensive menu. Take a walk in Sabana Park a few steps away after a delicious Chinese/Tico lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“The BEST chinese restaurant in San José”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Flor de Loto has been my favorite restaurant for years...“Very delicious food at good price!!! Really enjoyed the food!!!”

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quality food - though lacking atmosphere and a little style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just up the road from the Barcelo Hotel and is worth visiting as the food is very good. Be warned don't order too much - the portions are substantial - classic Costa Rican ! I had the Hot (and Sour) soup - which was excellent, meaty and 'hot' - followed by schezuan prawns on noodles and spring rolls - no chance of finishing the meal ! Very tasty ! The restaurant was a little 'cafe' style, bright and lacked any atmosphere so not recommended for a cosy romantic meal - though accepting this it is well worth visting for the food. Price was slightly high (though I did order too much food) - meal plus beer 14,000 ($28)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Flor de Loto also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Flor de Loto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flor de Loto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.