We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Chinese food, Tico style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flor de Loto

La Flor de Loto
Sabana Norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 344 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Jose
1 review
“Nice Chinese food, Tico style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

not cheap but good food, convivial atmosphere and extensive menu. Take a walk in Sabana Park a few steps away after a delicious Chinese/Tico lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    31
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“The BEST chinese restaurant in San José”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Flor de Loto has been my favorite restaurant for years...“Very delicious food at good price!!! Really enjoyed the food!!!”

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Quality food - though lacking atmosphere and a little style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just up the road from the Barcelo Hotel and is worth visiting as the food is very good. Be warned don't order too much - the portions are substantial - classic Costa Rican ! I had the Hot (and Sour) soup - which was excellent, meaty and 'hot' - followed by schezuan prawns on noodles and spring rolls - no chance of finishing the meal ! Very tasty ! The restaurant was a little 'cafe' style, bright and lacked any atmosphere so not recommended for a cosy romantic meal - though accepting this it is well worth visting for the food. Price was slightly high (though I did order too much food) - meal plus beer 14,000 ($28)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escazu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very few Chinese ingredients”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I live in Costa Rica.When i asked the main lady why they don't use the authentic ingredients sold here in the Chinese markets the reponse was " We,the owners and i, buy the good stuff for ourselves". I mean,really, carrots in the stir-fry? No real Chinese broccoli or watercress? Never once saw that in China nor in the U.S.Chinese restaurants. Bread rolls on the table? How ridiculous. They give the Ticos and Gringos what they can get away with----lots of fried rice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK Chinese food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reasonable food, it is OK; probably the only reasonably priced Chinese restaurant in this part of town. Clean. Lots of regulars. Tico bread - for appetizer - is terrible, typical Tico bread, like puffed air with a bad crust. Reasonable service. Doesn't open until 6:00, which I didn't particularly like as we like to eat early. They permit BYOB, not sure if there is a corking charge or not. We eat there occasionally as we stay in that area when visiting San Jose, and we do keep going back. It is hard to find reasonably priced good food in that part of San Jose. We live in Costa Rica, but San Jose visits are always over night trips for us. This is one place we keep going back to by default. If you want GREAT Asian food, go to Tin Jo downtown, or Mi Chef on the other side of the park, but get out your wallet!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Flor de Loto also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Flor de Loto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flor de Loto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.