We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nature adventure...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rios Tropicales

Rios Tropicales
#351 38th Street, San Jose, Costa Rica
011 (506) 2 233-6455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 79 Activities in San Jose
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rios Tropicales is an eco-adventure company that operates throughout Costa Rica. We offer adventure activities that take advantage of Costa Rica’s unique variety of environments: whitewater rafting, multisport activities that feature kayaking,canoeing, hiking, and cycling, family adventures, cultural encounters, nature and wildlife tours, and “volun-tourism”. Our mission, to share the rivers, natural resources and culture of Costa Rica while sharing conservation values, has not changed since we began in 1985. Rios Tropicales was established by native Central Americans, El Salvadorian Rafael Gallo and Costa Rican Fernando Esquivel, whose deep connection with the region and culture are apparent in every aspect of the company.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great nature adventure...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We took a trip on a Saturday. It's a good thing that you can arrange for the tour operator to fetch you from your hotel. They were a bit late but all is well.

Breakfast and Lunch are included for a a day's trip. It took us about 2 hours from San Jose to Rios Tropicales Operations center in Siquirres where we had a very nice typical Costa Rican Breakfast.

After breakfast we drove for another 10 minutes to the Jump-off point and another 10 to 15 minute walk to the river.

The guides are very professional and very helpful especially for First Time visitors.

The Rafting is about 27 kilometers and the rapids range from L1 to L4. the ride was fantastic, not only the river and the weather cooperated but also the whole trip was a different adventure. you will see a lot of birds and the rainforest along the Pacuare River.

We took lunch along the river banks halfway on our journey. The guides were also our chefs. they prepared a buffet of cold cuts and bread and fruit. Make your own sandwich type of meal.

We continued on the trip passing by some interesting places along the river like the old survey bridge and a river canyon.

This is not only a whitewater rafting trip but also the guides will allow you to swim on the river in the calmer portions. The swin on the river canyon was awsome. the water was not too cold nor too warm.

at the end of the trip we were fetched from the end point and back to the operations center, 10 minutes away to get dressed and have time for a little chat before going back to San jose.

All in all the trip was a nice experience especially for a first timer.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Oszel Marc T, Thanks for joining our Pacuare day trip and taking you time to write your detailed recommendation. Hope tp have you back some time for more paddling. I will forward your comments to our team so they can take a good look at them.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    27
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fantastic rafting, horse back riding, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is an incredible company for rafting and their eco-lodge is wonderful in terms of food, cabin, ambiance, and beauty (overlooks the river that you raft right up to. We stayed 2 nights but would have done the 3 nights if the option had been available at the time we were there. Can't say enough good things about the entire experience. They picked us up at our hotel in San Jose and brought us back at the end of the 4 days. In addition to rafting there was horseback riding, hiking and a zip line thru rain forest and across the river - all optional but included in a very reasonable package.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando E, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear John, First I want to thank you for joining one of our multiday trips to the Pacuare river & Rios Tropicales Lodge and for taking time to recommend us with your review. Whenever you are ready to come back it will be a pleasure to host you again.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite part of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I did the 3 day/2 night trip. It was amazing. The shuttle picked us up on time from our hotel in San Jose.

The guides are what make the trip so enjoyable. They are your rafting guides, chefs, rainforest guides, and just fun people to hang out with. The food was always made fresh and delicious.

Can't say enough good things about it.

Tip: Anything you bring must be taken by raft so pack light. They have a place to store your extra bags while on the trip. Just would have been nice to have a small bag packed jnstead of being rushed at breakfast before leaving.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Hannah P, Thanks for joining one of our Multiday Trips to the Pacuare River. I will send your comments to the guides and make sure they are taken into account.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chilling in the Rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The whole experience from start to finish was such an adventure. The team from Rio Tropicales really make you part of their team. Best experience I've ever had.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear BRINGonLIFE, Thanks for coming on one of our trips to the Pacuare River and taking your time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

Pura Vida,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Full-day Savegre River rafting tour out of Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was one of the top two activities my boyfriend and I participated in during our stay in Costa Rica. Definitely recommended!

The pickup was a little later than scheduled, but most tours seem to operate that way.

Our guide was friendly and professional. The gear appeared safe, comfortable, and well-kept. The tiny bits of chocolate or creme in the cookies we had with our pineapple-and-cold-water snack helped replenish our energy. (Other tour companies, take note! That little extra dash of sugar does wonders! Consider adding cookies with chocolate or creme to your mid-activity snacks!)

I found the van that we took induced a bit of claustrophobia in me, since it was so narrow and cramped. The driver drove really well, though, even with the winding roads and the gravel, so I was glad the driving didn't make me feel more queasy. Hopefully business booms for this excellent company so they can buy a new van soon!

Notes for tourists (and things I'd also encourage the company to post directly on their Savegre River webpage):
•It sounds like the other locations that this company rafts at have an impressive building to keep your things in and to shower in, but this one doesn't. They *do* have a shop in Quepos, where you stop off first to sign a waiver, and there, there are some free lockers to keep your valuables in. If possible, skip the lockers and just leave your valuables at home, although you may want to bring a bit of cash for sandals (described below) and photos (ranging from $10-30/person, depending on how many from your group pitch in to buy them.)
•One of the staff members is with the van all day, so feel free to bring a camera on the van ride to get some pictures of the beautiful mountain scenery along the way. You can keep it in the van with your clothes, etc. while you're on the river.
•When you stop in Quepos, the company has sandals with Velcro straps that you can rent for $5 USD if you don't have shoes that you can wear in the river.
•If you have a waterproof camera, bring it! Just make sure it has a strap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear CG, thanks for taking our trip to the Savegre. Your comments are appreciated and taken into consideration.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rios Tropicales also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rios Tropicales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.