We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a feast !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Avenida Escazu | Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
+506-2208-8899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 297 restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon!
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a feast !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited this restaurant following the recommendation of a freind of mine some time ago and I was just amazed by their menu and preparations. Te best Peruvian cusine I have ever tried. A whole new discovery into perhaps one of the most delicious foods in the world. If in San Jse you should definitely give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    103
    39
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is by far my favorite restaurant in the city when visiting. The appetizers are amazing. I didn't even know I liked Octopus. The risotto and sea bass were amazing and the desserts have a costa rican flare that make them to die for. The service was fabulous. Not speaking much english, we were offered some assistance but managed without the english translation. It helped us to better our speaking skills and the waiter was patient with us. The atmosphere is so chic yet cozy. We will definately come back here when in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It lacks punch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

It was recommended to me by a friend that lives in San Jose, the place is really well set up and very nicely decorated. Service was excellent but food was a disappointment, may be too high expectations.
I asked for a starter for a dish that was maid up of crispy grilled octopus and quinoa, for me quinoa is a tasteless meal but I wanted to give it another chance, once again I confirm quinoa is tasteless as well as this dish I had. As main dish after reviewing a not very exciting menu I ended up having a tenderloin with mozzarella, basilicus,and Italian tomato sauce with mushrooms, the waiter said it was a house specialty, well nothing special the beef was dry, the mozzarella was not good and the tomato sauce had no mushrooms and tasted like canned tomatoes.Dessert was good but not fresh.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A had been here a couple of times and I like the food and the service of the place. The ceviche and fish are great and the environment its quiet and welcome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Must try out the Nikkei Tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

La Divina Comida is one of my favorite restaurants in Escazu, for a couple of reasons, just walk in and you will start to feel it is a sensory experience, the seats, the tables, everything is done with an amazing taste. However the food is definitely to die for, everything is done with finesse. My favorite dish is the Tuna Nikkei and to tell you the truth it is the best I have had even if other restaurants. Plus once you sit down they serve you the most delicious "choclos" to start out your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Divina Comida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.