We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make you feel like royalty!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Avenida Escazu | Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
+506 2208 8899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 364 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon! For reservations o bigger groups (until 150 people) email us
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They make you feel like royalty!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The service is so good that they make you feel like royalty!! The place its oustanding decorated, feels warm and cozy, you would like to eat here again and again until you try all the menu!! Everything here is a piece of art from the dishes to the menu design itselft! And dont forget to try the mouthwatering desserts, yummy yummy yummy!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    63
    29
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in SJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Every time I travel to CR I make sure I indulge on the food in this place. The deserts are something in particular I want to mention in this review. This is the only Peruvian (note it is a fusion though) restaurant in SJ that features deserts with Lucuma ice-cream (Lucuma is an Andean fruit).The place has been decorated with taste and the location is great. One recommendation I would like to make is to have table cloths otherwise it feels a bit like the tables at Applebies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice setting but not the fantastic food that I have read in the reviews and expected from recommendations from friends. The Ceviche with Ginger was great, and the rest of the food was good, but was somewhat disappointed -- food just lacked flavor. The service was excellent, and overall a nice evening. But not the outstanding dishes that I expected. Probably need to give it another chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I read all reviews (50 something against 3 bad reviews) and let me tell you, I was more worries about a few bad reviews than the 50 "excellent". Do NOT trust those bad rev. La Divina Comedia has the perfect combination of service, price and excellent food. I really recommend this place. From a cocktail shot and bread (yummy) on the house, thru the appetizer, main course and dessert (wine included), the experience was great and so was the espresso. Thanks for this amazing night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Absolutely loved this restaurant! Beautiful décor and even more beautiful food! The risotto was to die for! Loved loved loved this restaurant!
Did I mention that I loved it?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Divina Comida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.