We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Avenida Escazu | Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
+506-2208-8899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 295 restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon!
Dallas
1 review
“Best restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food was great, the service was excellent and the experience was just delightful. Totally recommend this place to anyone who enjoys creative, innovative and signature cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    103
    39
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food ok, service not so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After ordering your food, be ready to be ignored. Once we had finished our main course (good food, not great, too much salt) and with repeat ignoring of our thirst, they took away the heater which kept us outdoor in one of those (seldom) cold and windy nights, without asking, suggesting or apologizing, just "moving on" to serve new arriving customers. For an upscale outing, this should be a "no-no"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Propietario at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had in La Divina Comida. We are going to put actions plans in place to avoid this happening again. We really hope you can give us another opportunity and demonstrate you why we are in the top 10 restaurants in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful experience at La Divina Comida with friends who recommended that we try it. From start to finish we had a fine dining experience. I have nothing negative to say; all was very positive. The service, food, wine and ambience were excellent. We spent over three hours and the staff did everything right to make us feel welcome. We had several ceviche dishes which were delicious. We recommend the ceviche Nikkei as a start. In all, I would do it again often and recommend to others. Great restaurant La Divina Comida!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very dissapointing food. My wife and myself orderd very different dishes, and both were equally disappointing. Although there were a couple of average spots, such as the entree (tomato soup), the saltiness of both main courses was such as to make the whole experience a complete waste of time and money. Even the drinks were awful (iced tea and lemonade) so we ended up drinking water the whole way.
As previous reviewers have pointed out the Peruvian Fusion denomination might be a bit misleading as the number of Peruvian or Peruvian-based dishes on the menu seems to be quite small.
Service is good, consistent with equivalent restaurants in the same location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Gerente at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had in La Divina Comida. We have already addressed the situation you experienced and we are putting actions plans in place to avoid this happening in the future. Our menus is Modern Peruvian Cuisine, with signature dishes created by our owner Chef Marco Antonio, who, is born and raised in Perú. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks for taking the time to write this review as it gives us information on our opportunities areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Expected big things but:
Octopus very, very sweet and too tough.
Fish dried out and again too sweet.
Ceviche way too acid.
Service polite but far from polished for such a " supposedly" upscale establishment.
Run for the Inka Grill at Paco's for Peruan food.
Clarification: we went on a Wednesday night and just maybe the head chef might not have been there (we did not verify), but bad food like this would still not be acceptable in any case.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDivinaComida, Propietario at La Divina Comida, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we want to thank you for taking the time to write. We have already addressed it with our Chef. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Divina Comida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.