We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Cafe

Park Cafe
100 N Rostipollos, La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2290 63 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 323 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Please read important reservation information on our website before making your booking. Thank you.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Park Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was the best meal by far I've ever had in my 20 years in Costa Rica.
I would say this restaurant can be compared to any of the better ones you'll find across Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet dinner at teh Park Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at the Park Cafe, it was an excellent surprise to find such a fine restaurant in San Jose, it could be in any fine restaurant city: London, Paris, New York, Sao Paulo.

It's located in an old house in a residential street, in fact, it's not easily found, if taking a taxi it's better to call and asked them to give directions to the taxi driver. Reservations is a must, it's a small and cosy place.

We were a party of four and we had an outstanding dinner. The food, the service and the wine (not extensive wine list, but good wines and reasonably priced) were impeccable. Ahh, but the appetizers and the deserts were simply amazing.

The restaurant also doubles as a antique store.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite place in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the few restaurants in the San Jose that I'd actually call a "culinary experience." It's a quirky joint - even with open tables you usually won't get seated without a reservation, and they are typically closed at least a couple months out of every year. Knowing all this going in, just make sure you call ahead and plan to be there a couple of hours total. This isn't the kind of meal you want to rush. While you're waiting between courses, you can scope out some of the beautiful antiques they sell from all over the world.

Park Cafe really is unique in San Jose, and each experience there should be unique; the menu only has a few options, which change regularly. This makes it nearly impossible to recommend any specific dish, but I will say that you need to save room for dessert. It's one of the best around!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food is excellent and the service like in no other place! The chef/owner walked with us for 2 blocks and got us a taxi after the one we had waiting for us left us there! Anyone who goes to San Jose should definitely try to include Park Cafe as one of their places to visit, will not be dissapointed!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A memorable meal of refinement in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We felt so lucky to stumble on an extraordinary meal in Park Cafe. We were staying across the street in the lovely Aparthotel La Sabana, so we kind of stumbled in, but if we had looked it up on Trip Advisor, we would have known that it was one of the top rated spots for a meal in the whole city. Our lunch was quite simply exquisite. In a courtyard brimming with antiques and Balinese sculpture, we began with the ceviche--which was marinating while the chef chatted with us--on a bed of eggplant tapenade. It paired beautifully with a crisp Sauvignon Blanc and homemade bread. For my main course, I chose Parro, or Red Snapper, with Provencal vegetables. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his beef dish, not sure what it was, with a wonderful glass of Merlot. The charming couple who run this place seem intent on keeping it a 'discreet address' -- we really didn't see a sign -- but what a find. We will definitely be back on our next trip to San Jose. The last reviewer found the place pricy, but we didn't at all, considering the quality of the meal and the intimacy of the place. (We live in NYC where we are accustomed to paying more for a superlative experience.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.