We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what happens when you mix Chinees and Japanees....not good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Seoul

Little Seoul
San Jose, Costa Rica
2232 5551
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 316 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
san jose, costa rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is what happens when you mix Chinees and Japanees....not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The place is a bit run down, they make an effort though. More than can be said for alot of places in CR. Its like they added to the place a few times so be careful going to the mens bathroom, the floor changes height 3 times in the hall....
I think what they are going for is a mix of everything asain food has to offer. Their dumplings were good, rolls were the same as you get everywhere else. When asking the waitress what she recomended, she did not know what to say....like she would not eat the food there.

The one red flag for me was that there were no Asain people eating there, only Ticos....not a good sign if you are looking for authentic.

This place would be much better if they just picked something and went with it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite place for sushi and Korean food in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had been a client for years and after trying many Korean and Japanese restaurants always keep going back there for great autentic food. The decoration needs to be renew and looks old.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

The best sushi place in San Jose, always fresh, large selection of sushi and Korean food. Love the miso soup, the kimchi, California roll, caterpillar, bulgogi..... Mmm.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good Korean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A bit pricey but the food is well worth it. A bit of a sterile / strip-mall atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Korean food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I went to Little Seoul for my birthday since I was craving Korean food and I wanted to try a restaurant I hadn´t been to, and I´m glad I did! We ordered Bibimbap and a sushi. Both were really good, fresh and authentic! Will definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Seoul also viewed

San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Little Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.