We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added KC Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
KC Hotel San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were travelling in a group. Reserved rooms, hoping for the best. The price was very reasonable for San Jose. The room was large, and well lit, with comfortable, clean beds. The water was hot, and everything worked well The Wi-Fi worked well, and the included breakfast was quite substantial. We were quite happy with this find, and found it to be centrally located. Would stay here again!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americangirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene E, Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Salvador
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I spent a few nights here recently, and I had stayed at the hotel before. It is quite clean, and nearby to San Jose. It would be a short taxi ride or an ambitious walk to downtown San Jose. The hotel is priced moderately, compared to comparable lodging in the area. There is a free breakfast and the wireless internet is good. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though I can only speak for the rooms in the front section of the hotel closest to the street. I understand the rooms to the back were part of the original hotel, and are older.

In general, I would recommend the hotel, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front section, nearest the street. The rooms are far enough away from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene E, Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Huge beds and good breakfasts. Walking distance to large park, doc Brown's soda and grocery store. We arrived at airport, went here to start our Green Creation tour. It was fine for the night. People are nice, opened restaurant so we could get ice. We just walked around area and went to park and museum there.

Room Tip: choose room on other side of vet , barking dogs at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene E, Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments, we are working to improve our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I liked staying at this hotel it was one of the bet on my trip and the rooms were nice. I really liked the rooms and the layout of the hotel. It had a pool and is right next to a great smoothie place called Gustos. I thought the food was advarage but still was not bad. However I thought the receptionist could have been a little better. When ever I asked for something he would give me a look and drag his feet somtimes he was talking on the phone when I was standing there too. But that is not all of the receptionist because some I were very fond of to be quite honest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperkreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene E, Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Do you enjoy the smell of carpet glue? Does a circular saw lull you to sleep? Wish you could step over workmen on your way into your room? Yeah, me neither.

I was with a tour group and the Hotel KC was our last stop. Yes, it was elegant-y -- maybe more 'spa-like' in its look so it was a significant improvement over all of our other hotels, but it wasn't as nice as I had hoped. Its neutral appearance was deceiving.

Through no fault of its own, the hotel is situated near the train, so be prepared for endless train horn blaring starting at 5 a.m. If you can't sleep through the train noise (which happens during the afternoon siesta time as well), you can probably ask for an interior room. The rooms are on the left of the building and the right -- be sure to ask for any room on the right. Our room faced an apartment complex and a veterinarian's office. Think crying baby and nonstop dog barking. And we didn't have air-conditioning to mask any of the noises outside; we simply had a fan.

Yeah, I couldn't wait to get home so that I could sleep.

Also, the staff were unfriendly and the meals they gave us were weird. Our final meal on our Costa Rican trip consisted of french fries with Thousand Island dressing on them and rice. We also had two juices which were really tasty. I had blown off a decent meal down the street expecting a great meal at the hotel. Very disappointed with our last meal -- would have been better if the whole thing had been our endless rice 'n beans/beans 'n rice combo.

KC Hotel got the three stars from the decor, the shower pressure, the security guard behind a closed gate, and the fact that the Internet connection was the best of all the hotels we stayed at when it was working. Not sure if the shower pressure was because the hot water heater was right outside our window, but someone with plumbing experience will know the answer to that!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right are quieter away from the train, crying babies, and overnight guests at the vet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fashionating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria p, Public Relations Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I deeply regret the inconveniences you suffer. I am happy to report that the remodeling is done. As per the problem with the dog clinic, we were not aware that the noise was affecting certain rooms; we will talk with them immediately to see what can we do.

Finally as per the staff, thank you for letting us know. We will take your opinion in consideration.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is very clean, has air-conditioning, a nice restaurant and isn't too far (a block or so) away from 2 markets. They service was very great. They have wifi available and also 2 computers for visitors to use.

Room Tip: All the rooms that our group had were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first long stay in Costa since living tin Costa Rica back in 2000. It was so exceptional that I actually returned to Colaye three different times throughout my 3 week stay. The hotel is very boutque style hotel located in beautiful Sabana located just minutes from San Jose and exclusive Escazu. It offers a very modern / trendy feel throughout the hotel with deco art throughout the hallways. Miguel Guevara Molina who works up front has gone above and beyond to make sure the stay far exceeded my expectations offering a level of unparralled service that is hard to find in any hotel. The rooms were spotless and the beds beyond comfortable and free Wifi. The restaurant offers a great inclusive breakfast that was a complete added touch. I highly recommend staying at Hotel KC Colaye when visiting San Jose. You will not be dissapointed. Chris H - CEO Data One Merchant Services

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#32 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp Sabana Hotel by Wyndham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Address: Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. A/C is avilable only on Superior Rooms. All the rooms have fans. Our rooms and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. He have an special Smoked Garden pro Carbon Neutral, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KC Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing