We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean rooms, friendly staff, quite neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added KC Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
KC Hotel San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
May Offer $66 USD
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“clean rooms, friendly staff, quite neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we liked our visit. the staff are very friendly. the room was nice. swimming pool was pretty (didn't have time to swim). and they offered breakfast (but we had to leave really early so we didn't get to try). the neighborhood was quiet and we were able to take a five minute taxi ride to downtown. I would recommend this place. it suited our needs just fine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
40
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Due to a stolen passport, I stayed here for 4 nights rather than the one night I planned. Rooms are basic but large and are kept clean and serviced daily. Hotel pool is nice, and receptionists very helpful, in particular Fernando, Karla and Gerald - all speak good English and were extremely pleasant to me. Breakfast is basic and the same every day, and I found the restaurant staff a little dismissive. Don't eat here in the evenings. Drinks are way too expensive, and 5 mins around the corner is Mac's American Bar where you can get a decent meal for not a lot of money.

Room Tip: Go for one of the re-furbished rooms in the main building and not in the annexe out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

From outside it looks good. The common areas are OK too. But once you are in your room, it seems you are in a modest "motel", in an empty room. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, and in the common areas it works and leaves and comes back... The receptionist wasn't concerned at all when I asked her if she could help me with Internet service "it will come back very soon". (I made the booking through an internet site but first called the hotel and they guaranteed they had a good Wifi/Internet service in the rooms). Service is NOT a priority for the staff here. Seems there is no manager onsite... I hate motels, but some are well run at least. This one was not. Was supposed to stay two nights and left the next day to Luisiana in Santa Ana, which I can only recommend. Do yourself a favor, do NOT stay at Colaye.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria p, Director de Relaciones Públicas at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you encounter staying with us. The WIFI problem was completely out of our control, but we sincerely regret that our staff at that time did not give you the reply a client deserves. Please accept our apologies, if you give us another opportunity we will happy to show you all the changes we had made. Please contact us .
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After landing in Costa Rica (san jose) this is a good place to spend your first night. You can sleep well and enjoy the swimming pool. For breakfast I would recommend that you go so where in the city but for just a fast bite it`s good enough.

Staff is friendly and fluent in English, place is clean!

We had a room without air condition but with a big fan.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I live by the beach in Costa Rica about a day away from the capital. Over the years Colaye became my second home in San José. The remodeled rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple but tasty. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is located in Sabana Sur, a central location in the capital area. The park of La Sabana is nearby if you want to go for a walk. You won't find a better price quality hotel in the San José area....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I staid in the hotel for few days with my lovely wife and we enjoyed it vey match!!
the hotel stuff and installation answered all are needs and more.
the service is great, the rooms ate nice and cleen and the breakfast is fresh.
this is definitely value for money hotel and we recommend you to stay there.

we want to thank the hotel stuff

Dani and Machi Asado

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel KC San Jose Colaye four times in the last 2 years. That should tell anyone who reads these a lot. The rooms are very clean. The staff extremely helpful. Miquel Molina has always been professional and helpful with suggestions. My Spanish is very bad. The front desk staff ( Karla, Miquel, Gerald, and Lester ) all speak English. I would suggest this Hotel to anyone. I love the location, within walking distance to many places to eat. Also close to a convenience store. Sabana Sur is the best area in San Jose!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Address: Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. A/C is avilable only on Superior Rooms. All the rooms have fans. Our rooms and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. He have an special Smoked Garden pro Carbon Neutral, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KC Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KC Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.