We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never be back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added KC Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
KC Hotel San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Morenos | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Granada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would never be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

From outside it looks good. The common areas are OK too. But once you are in your room, it seems you are in a modest "motel", in an empty room. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, and in the common areas it works and leaves and comes back... The receptionist wasn't concerned at all when I asked her if she could help me with Internet service "it will come back very soon". (I made the booking through an internet site but first called the hotel and they guaranteed they had a good Wifi/Internet service in the rooms). Service is NOT a priority for the staff here. Seems there is no manager onsite... I hate motels, but some are well run at least. This one was not. Was supposed to stay two nights and left the next day to Luisiana in Santa Ana, which I can only recommend. Do yourself a favor, do NOT stay at Colaye.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria p, Director de Relaciones Públicas at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you encounter staying with us. The WIFI problem was completely out of our control, but we sincerely regret that our staff at that time did not give you the reply a client deserves. Please accept our apologies, if you give us another opportunity we will happy to show you all the changes we had made. Please contact us .
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
32
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lommel, Belgium
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After landing in Costa Rica (san jose) this is a good place to spend your first night. You can sleep well and enjoy the swimming pool. For breakfast I would recommend that you go so where in the city but for just a fast bite it`s good enough.

Staff is friendly and fluent in English, place is clean!

We had a room without air condition but with a big fan.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I live by the beach in Costa Rica about a day away from the capital. Over the years Colaye became my second home in San José. The remodeled rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple but tasty. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is located in Sabana Sur, a central location in the capital area. The park of La Sabana is nearby if you want to go for a walk. You won't find a better price quality hotel in the San José area....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I staid in the hotel for few days with my lovely wife and we enjoyed it vey match!!
the hotel stuff and installation answered all are needs and more.
the service is great, the rooms ate nice and cleen and the breakfast is fresh.
this is definitely value for money hotel and we recommend you to stay there.

we want to thank the hotel stuff

Dani and Machi Asado

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel KC San Jose Colaye four times in the last 2 years. That should tell anyone who reads these a lot. The rooms are very clean. The staff extremely helpful. Miquel Molina has always been professional and helpful with suggestions. My Spanish is very bad. The front desk staff ( Karla, Miquel, Gerald, and Lester ) all speak English. I would suggest this Hotel to anyone. I love the location, within walking distance to many places to eat. Also close to a convenience store. Sabana Sur is the best area in San Jose!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

On this trip my fiance and I traveled to CR from diffrent locations( usa & afghanistan) . I was delayed for 4 days.During this time the hotel staff was very helpful, esspecially Miguel Molina .He gave her direction to grocery stores & pharmacy, close and good places to eat , exchanged money and explained not go out at night by herself . Watched the superbowl in the lobby with her .She is not much of a world traveler and I tend to drag her all over the globe with me. It was a relief to know she was in good hands with the hotel staff . The staff was very helpful booking tours, travel and reservations at other locations.The rooms and the hotel was very clean and well maintained . Breahfast was very good .A good place to stay in San Jose. Looking forward to going back someday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramot HaShavim, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

great location.the stuff make you feel a home, the room was very comfortable,the hotel is very clean, love the breakfast and especially the good espresso on the bar.
i stayed their the night i came to costa rica and a few days before i flew back.
i recommend this hotel to everyone who comes for a business trip or for traveling in costa rica
as a great spot.

Room Tip: need more vegetable in breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Address: Calle Morenos | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. Our standard rooms, apartments and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including a fully equipped kitchen, cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KC Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KC Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.