We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining it is not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andiamo La'

Andiamo La'
Santa Ana | A un costado del Mas x Menos, San Jose, Costa Rica
+506 272-1838
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 298 restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining it is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place really isn't as good as the reviews suggest. The building

The carpaccio was actually one of the worst I've had. Overly thin, not enough time out of the freezer and bleeding on my plate. Seafood ravioli came in a watery salty sauce. On another occasion I ordered a pizza which I had to send back because the base was under cooked.

The place is still finding it's feet

I will say the wine list is pretty decent. Carpe Diem is still the #1 Italian place here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    76
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My God so good !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this Italian restaurant in Santa Ana, you have to go, not more expansive, worth every penny, everything is good, excellent service, ambiance and great italian food! If you are in a rush don't go... cant wait to go back!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Carpaccio Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have been going there for years (the one in Tres Rios), and now to the one in Santa Ana. They have the best Carpaccio ever!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is without a doubt, the best fine dining restaurant in Costa Rica. Not only the service is amazing, the food is magnificent and the knowledge of the waiters on dishes-wine combination is extraordinary. Waiters know the menu and specials by heart, they can explain any of the dishes and recommend a matching glass of wine with a perfect match.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Gourmet Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food here is exceptional as well as the service. This is gourmet Italian at its finest. Although I am not a fan of gourmet food in general,every dish and appetizer was amazing to the taste buds. The service was superior and professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andiamo La' also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro

Been to Andiamo La'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andiamo La', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.