We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nau

Nau
Intercontinental Hotel | En frente de Multiplaza Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica
506 22082148
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 104 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Green and white hues and modern furniture signal the ultra-cool ambiance in Nau Lounge, a trendy Asian inspired drinking and eating spot off the lobby. Enjoy fresh sushi and sashimi from the bar while lounge music fills the air in this chic, contemporary lounge setting
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very good and fresh sushi! Nothing that will surprise (the rolls could be more elaborated) but good quality food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    20
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Colombia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not a fan of this place at all. The service isn't very good, and its just a dull/boring place. They have no real scenery or view or even windows so it just makes for a bland experience. I've had much better food at better places here in SJ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Sushi in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant itself is so cool -- straight out of Austin Powers grooviness !! You feel like you are out somewhere fun instantly. There is an excellent variety of rolls from the lighter side to yummy tempura rolls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Nau, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear EAS5, your review describes exactly our concept, a modern place with excellent food and service. Thank you for rating us as your favorite sushi bar in San Jose. Sincerely, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service makes the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nau is the sushi restaurant in the Real Intercontinental, which is where I always stay for my business trips to San Jose. The menu has a very large and good selection, but what I appreciate most is the staff, who are always attentive.

If I have one complaint (and I do), it is the price of the food. Like most other restaurants in Escazu, the prices are simply too high. I simply don't understand how a country with as much coastline as Costa Rica, can be charging the prices for seafood that it does. But I want to be very clear - this phenomenon is not unique to Nau. Most restaurants in Escazu are overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Nau, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Craig67, compliments to our staff are always welcome and appreciated, we strive to have the best products available in order to provide the best quality. Thank you and we look forward to serve you once again. Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love this place!!!! I didn't know it existed till last week, I have been twice and each time is awesome. I love sushi and I have had some bad sushi here in costa rica, this place is legit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Nau, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Cabobunny, your comment is priceless, especially as you compare us with so many options in the Costa Rica. It is our ultimate goal to always provide the best products along with the finest service. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nau also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Nau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.