We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taj Mahal

Restaurante Taj Mahal
1 km Oeste del Centro Comercial Paco calle vieja hacia Santa Ana, San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica, Escazu, Costa Rica
+506 2228 0980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Costa Rica's Original Indian Restaurant. Established in 2002 serving Authentic North Indian Cuisine with such specialties as lamb, tandoori, vegetarian, chicken, seafood, an extensive list of curries, biryanis, and fresh naan. We also can recommend vegan and gluten free selections. We are a full scale restaurant with a wine list and bar service for our clients. We have a private room and outdoor terrace in our garden. WIFI, Delivery, and Catering Service available. Certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) as a 5 star establishment.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were heading to our hotel, and passed the sign on the street. Indian food in Costa Rica! This we needed to try.
From the moment we were met at the street with an umbrella, it was wonderful.
Inside the doors we were greeted with a beautiful view, and the greeter aided us with taking several couples pictures.
Beautiful interiors. Loved the sound of the peacock while we were dining. The food as as good as any we have had. We appreciated the offer to choose which level of "heat" we wanted in the spice.
They have recently invited a new chief direct from New Delhi.
When we mentioned having seen a coupon on their website for a complimentary glass of wine, they gave it to us, "just this time " as they really wanted the print out.
The tandoori oven is in the open so you can watch your dinner being prepared.
Only sorry we had not arrived with an empty stomach, thus having no room to try desert.
As our hotel was just down the street, they even gave us a ride back.
We will be back in the area next week, and will certainly be returning. This time with an empty stomach to have room for desert. If I had known in advance, and I would have brought a sari :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    44
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food, service and atmosphere are all superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you sit on the patio the air is cool and crisp and you can watch the chef prepare the meats and make the pan on the outside grill, the whole experience is amazing, including the Bali musical playing on the video screen if you do sit inside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for Costa Rica standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've lived in Costa Rica for many years and this is one of the few Indian restaurants in the country. Considering this is a country of rice, beans, chicken, and tough beef the Indian food here is a great relief. Yes, the "heat" factor has been tempered for the Costa Rican tastes but this restaurant does as good a job as I can expect in the country and a nice change from the routine Italian restuarants that saturate this place (outside of the local food).

I enjoy going to this restaurant when ever my Indian food desire develops and I go without hesitation.

The lamb is well cooked, the sauces, although maybe not "the real thing" are very good.

The multiple variations of Nan are good, wine selection is basic but sufficient and prices relatively reasonable for the area.

Service was good - compared to other restaurants and other expensive restaurants the service is great. My water glass was never empty as the staff was aware and refilled without being asked. Napkins that accidentally dropped on the floor was seen by the staff, picked up and replaced with a new clean napkin without being asked. The staff was familiar with all the foods on the menu and described clearly with asked a question. All the staff I talked with spoke good english which made typical frustrations of understanding ingrediants and other issues related to the cooking processes much easier and added to the enjoyment.

The decor is definitely an attempt to try and present an authentic Indian feel and I think they do a good job with the approach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Indian Restaurant Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was a little disappointed with the staff. I felt they were a little jaded with their job. Also, as a lover of Indian food I was hoping for a more authentic menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice ambience and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here after a long day of rafting and chocolate tour. Decor was very authentic and Indian. We are vegetarian and love spicy indian food. We were not dissapointed. I am always wary of indian food in foreign counties but this was impressive. We live in near DC which has over 50 indian restaurants and this one ranks up there. Make sure and ask for onions and spicy Serrano peppers on the side. We ordered the Mushroom Matar, potatoes dish and cheese and lentil dishes. The Naan bread was crispy and hot. Enjoy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taj Mahal also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.