We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taj Mahal

Restaurante Taj Mahal
1 km Oeste del Centro Comercial Paco calle vieja hacia Santa Ana, San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica, Escazu, Costa Rica
+506 2228 0980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Costa Rica's Original Indian Restaurant. Established in 2002 serving Authentic North Indian Cuisine with such specialties as lamb, tandoori, vegetarian, chicken, seafood, an extensive list of curries, biryanis, and fresh naan. We also can recommend vegan and gluten free selections. We are a full scale restaurant with a wine list and bar service for our clients. We have a private room and outdoor terrace in our garden. WIFI, Delivery, and Catering Service available. Certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) as a 5 star establishment. We also now have a children's playground in our garden area.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I LOVE Indian food. This place has great atmosphere and the food is really good. The service was quick and efficient (almost to a negative, if you know what I mean). The food was tasty. I love the fact when I asked for some heat on a dish, they delivered. Good for you. When I want Indian food, this will be my choice in San Jose.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    48
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best Hindu food in CR... very comfy, and great service.
a little over the budget though. I've tried different indian restaurants and this is the best one, very neat, and clean
I recommend the tendori chicken and the fruit punch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I never thought I would find truly authentic Indian Cuisine in Costa Rica. have lived here 10 years and decided to give it a go. Awesome food. great service. Nice atmosphere. Definitely the place to go for great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I know it has been ages since I went there and that is only because I now live 3+ hrs from SJO. But if I lived there, it would be a place a would visit often. The food is always wonderful! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanacaste
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I want Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Once again our delightful host at Casa Isabella gave us a great recommendation for eating out Indian food this time. We love Indian food and were not disappointed. We love lamb and we had two different lamb choices . We started with the Onion Bhaji and it was delightful. Ending with cucumber raitia ...most satisfying dinner. So glad we had the opportunity while in Escazu to dine out Indian !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taj Mahal also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.