We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taj Mahal

Restaurante Taj Mahal
1 km Oeste del Centro Comercial Paco calle vieja hacia Santa Ana, San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica, Escazu, Costa Rica
+506 2228 0980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Costa Rica's Original Indian Restaurant. Established in 2002 serving Authentic North Indian Cuisine with such specialties as lamb, tandoori, vegetarian, chicken, seafood, an extensive list of curries, biryanis, and fresh naan. We also can recommend vegan and gluten free selections. We are a full scale restaurant with a wine list and bar service for our clients. We have a private room and outdoor terrace in our garden. WIFI, Delivery, and Catering Service available. Certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) as a 5 star establishment.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best Hindu food in CR... very comfy, and great service.
a little over the budget though. I've tried different indian restaurants and this is the best one, very neat, and clean
I recommend the tendori chicken and the fruit punch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    41
    13
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I never thought I would find truly authentic Indian Cuisine in Costa Rica. have lived here 10 years and decided to give it a go. Awesome food. great service. Nice atmosphere. Definitely the place to go for great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I know it has been ages since I went there and that is only because I now live 3+ hrs from SJO. But if I lived there, it would be a place a would visit often. The food is always wonderful! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanacaste
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I want Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Once again our delightful host at Casa Isabella gave us a great recommendation for eating out Indian food this time. We love Indian food and were not disappointed. We love lamb and we had two different lamb choices . We started with the Onion Bhaji and it was delightful. Ending with cucumber raitia ...most satisfying dinner. So glad we had the opportunity while in Escazu to dine out Indian !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“When you've tired of casados!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very good Indian food and the lamb was outstanding by any measure. So many places stew their lamb to the point that it could be mutton but this was freshly cooked and still pink! Everything was fresh. The decor is campy and fun and the servers are very helpful. A couple of hints though - this isn't located in San Jose but on the old road between Escazu and Santa Ana and even though San Jose is spreading rapidly its not quite that far out yet. Also be prepared to spend top dollar for the food - while the quality is good, the price is definitely geared to tourists. We had two main dishes and two side dishes (one was rice) and no alcohol (not with those hairpin turns outside!) and it cost the two of us $90.00.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taj Mahal also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.